We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service so memorable I can't forget about it”
Review of Saxonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saxonville Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Wiscasset, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service so memorable I can't forget about it”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I stayed 2 nights at Saxonville while finishing up the Coast to Coast Walk with 14 other hikers. The staff handled our large group most efficiently and with such good humor that it put all of our other accommodations over the previous 2 weeks way back in the pack. I felt welcome the instant we arrived and so grateful for the help with my large duffle bag.. The rooms varied in size and arrangement - some a bit small, but others very large in order to accommodate a family or group. Also, the hotel provides a comfortable lobby area and bar that is big enough for groups to gather without disturbing other hotel guests. My room was very large - great counter area to put cosmetics, brew tea and organize one's clothes; it also had a nice large window which opened to let in sea breezes. Each meal was excellent. Try the Breakfast fruit smoothies! No typical hotel fare here. They have a lovely menu to ponder with many healthy and good choices. At dinner the service staff demonstrated proper attentiveness without intruding on our group 'dynamics'. Our stay at the Saxonville put a proper and fabulous Ribbon on a great two weeks of walking on the Coast to Coast route.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonics6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    82
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
40
177
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

It was a question of finding somewhere ar short notice - but am I glad I found this! Most excellent food (including a brillant table d'hote), a relatively spacious single room (a rarity), service was excellent without being obsequious. Not cheap, but worth every penny!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bathman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tideswell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

What a gem of an hotel, we went away for the weekend with some friends and how we wish we could have stayed longer.
The staff at the hotel are so friendly and the service we received was excellent,the food at the hotel is first class,and it is the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in. thank you to all at the saxonville hotel. WE WILL BE BACK!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Oh wow, what a fantastic place to stay. It is the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed at and the staff are so helpful and friendly! The food is first class and we felt really spoilt! We don't however want to recommend it to anyone for the simple reason that there won't be any vacancies when we next wish to stay!!! (only joking we have told everyone about it !)
Thank you all so much for making our short stay so enjoyable!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chean_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W. Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

This is the third year in a row that we have booked an early weekend getaway with the Saxonville, taking advantage of their special offer. Whenever we book, friends are always eager to join us so there tends to be a few of us staying at the same time. I can not fault, the cleanliness, nor the friendliness of all the staff and the service is outstanding. One word of warning though if you are coming to stay here forget the diet, the food is outstanding and you don't want to miss a thing. We have visited other Hotels in Whitby to look at their facilities, but nothing compares to the Saxonville and we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandCW_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate my mums Birthday. There was me my husband, our 2 children & 6 other adults & 2 more children. My mum & Dad stay at this hotel every year & have been coming here for a number of years, so we knew what to expect.
We had a family room on the top floor with a double bed & 2 single beds. The room looked like it had recently been re-decorated along with new carpet. There was a flat screen tv on the wall, tea,coffee etc... , hairdryer & fluffy dressing gowns & slippers. The bathroom was also nice with plenty of towels & toiletries,
The food in the hotel was fantastic & you could not fault it we had breakfast each morning (plenty to choose from) & the 5 course silver service meal in the evening . They do also have a seperate childrens menu aswell. The staff were excellent & the service that we received was fantastic.
The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to whitby centre. We would definatly stay at this hotel when visiting Whitby again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186356Red20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2010

This was our short break in Whitby, the hotel was slightly expensive but worth the money. The breakfasts and evening meals were delicious, the silver service was first class. It was very helpful to find a hotel with parking in Whitby.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helensbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#9 of 20 in Whitby
1,129 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxonville Hotel

Property: Saxonville Hotel
Address: Ladysmith Avenue, Whitby YO21 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Saxonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation in Award Winning Family Run Hotel. Well situated on Whitby's West Cliff. The comfort and hospitality of Saxonville Hotel can be found just a few minutes stroll from the narrow winding alleyways of this delightful historic town. Our Fairfield Restaurant has an excellent choice of traditional fair complemented by our extensive wine list and our special sweet trolley of mouthwatering desserts. No supplement on single rooms. Private Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saxonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxonville Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing