We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”
Review of Saxonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saxonville Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We have just spent a four-night break at the Saxonville and enjoyed every minute of it. The whole hotel is spotless, well decorated and homely. We had a luxury room but it was not necessary because we were shown the standard rooms and they were perfect. There was tea, coffee and hot chocolate and lovely biscuits provided daily in our room. Everyone, from the reception staff to the waitresses were absolutely charming and could not do enough for us. The food was first-class, beautifully presented, and plenty to choose from- both at breakfast and dinner. We would recommend anyone thinking of staying to book dinner as well as breakfast as the value for money is exceptional for a five-course meal.

Room Tip: There is no lift but there is one room on the ground floor. De-lux rooms are bigger but the standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    81
    26
    5
    7
See reviews for
38
174
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2011

From the friendly greeting we received on arrival from Linda to the moment of our departure everything was wonderful, the staff could not do enough for us. The room was fabulous eveything we needed was there.The full waitress service was amazing as was the food,wonderful deserts
Great location for the town.
Very very clean and spotless, we loved every moment and have booked again for
February, cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed at the Saxonville for 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast. We have stayed before and as always found it immaculately clean. It is in a perfect location for us as very near the spa. Room this time over looked the road on the first floor and was bigger than previous times. Tea/coffee was replaced every day and lovely biscuits. The staff are very happy to help and can't do enough for you. Both dinner and breakfast is table service and there is plenty. The deserts are amazing!! We will be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarlettblushes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Just had a 2 night stay at this hotel and although the decor was a little dated in the reception and dining room for my personal taste, the place was immaculately clean and apparently all the paintwork is re-done every year when the hotel shuts down for 2 weeks. We had a deluxe double bedroom in which the decor was very tastefull and the facilities were excellent. For a 3 star hotel we were provided with dressing gowns and slippers, all the toiletry requirements and little extras you would expect from a higher rated hotel. We dined in the hotel restaurant on the first night and the food and service were excellent at a bargain basement price!. Again, couldn't fault it. The staff were very warm and friendly and next morning we had waitress service for breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. Just off the West Cliff in a quiet non-through road so no extra traffic and plenty of parking which is always a problem in Whitby, Would definately stay there again

Room Tip: Go for deluxe rather that standard definately worth that extra £10 per room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalaxyRider50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Visiting the bar area before going out for dinner, I ordered a coffee, expecting the usual cup of instant, and I got a cafetiere and delicious locally made ginger biscuits on a silver salver! The gentleman who served us, most likely the owner, was very hospitable and amusing, providing a truly convivial atmosphere! When he found out we were leaving very early on our last day, he offered to prepare a breakfast tray for us to take up the night before. Very kind and thoughtful.

On the down-side, the hotel decor was a somewhat dated. I would have preferred a duvet to sheets and blanket, and the heating was a little high. Breakfast wasn't great - I think it had been pre-cooked and reheated. Again, though, service was exemplary. These niggles are all a matter of personal taste, and it didn't detract from the overall experience which was very good and I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buggletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

A few minutes walk into Whitby centre, situated on the Cliff top. Good location and a car park as well. Our room was a delux and looked newly refurbished. Very nice, very clean and very well equipped. No problems at all. Lovely biscuits as well! Staff all really efficient and friendly, breakfast especially was a good experience with a wide choice of food, porridge, Whitby kippers etc. A very traditional hotel with good service obviously of importance. All in all, cannot fault and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotfooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

after trying several several hotels in whitby the wife and i have found the perfect hotel food was perfect the room very very clean and the staff very freindly we stayed in room 23 the hotel is a good 10 minutes walk to the town centre all down hill returning takes about 25 minutes butbthe saxonville hotel is well worth it

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
808 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#16 of 20 in Whitby
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxonville Hotel

Property: Saxonville Hotel
Address: Ladysmith Avenue, Whitby YO21 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Saxonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation in Award Winning Family Run Hotel. Well situated on Whitby's West Cliff. The comfort and hospitality of Saxonville Hotel can be found just a few minutes stroll from the narrow winding alleyways of this delightful historic town. Our Fairfield Restaurant has an excellent choice of traditional fair complemented by our extensive wine list and our special sweet trolley of mouthwatering desserts. No supplement on single rooms. Private Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Saxonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxonville Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing