We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel five star”
Review of Saxonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saxonville Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I had an excellent stay, no single supplement, airy large single room, the hotel was very clean throughout, the staff were welcoming and friendly. It had a homely feel without being too small. The dining room was very spacious with lots of room between tables with white linen tablecloths which added to the ambiance. The food was mouthwatering, with detail to presentation, lots of choice and courses so only needed a small snack at lunchtime. Overall the experience was better than expected, and although I have travelled widely, I would say it is one of the best hotels that I have stayed in, which is something as I have stayed in the best hotels in the world. I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Sorry no swimming pool but my advise would be to book early
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Saxonville Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

There is nothing to compalin about at this hotel. Whitby is a lovely and very interesting place for a break and coupled with a accomodation at this comfortable Saxonville seaside hotel will make a memorable stay. Hotel service, room quality, cleanliness, meals etc are all spot on. There is off street parking and to top it all off "free WiFi connection".

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steveharris616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I stayed here as part of a group of 36, so we had the hotel to ourselves. They gave us an excellent deal for the group booking. The place is comfortable and the food is excellent. The menu is relatively small and that means that all the food produced is of a high quality and well presented. I would be happy to recommend the hotel and to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarjBaillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

hi john here
been to the saxonville hotel for a short break what can i say loved it the hotel is not large but large on quality every thing is perfect allthough nothing is perfect it is not much you will find rong with this hotel the food 10 out of ten the clendliness is spot on and the staff are very nice and pleasent it is a quite hotell so will probably best for older poeple or couples the rooms we had and saw were very good as i say you can allways pick a little fault but i am not as i cant see anything to complain about [i know some poeple can] so if you can have a few days here and unwined you will enjoy it is in the better part of whitby regards john

Room Tip: if you have mobility problems go for the lower floor
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_w_bentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Haviong visited solo a year or two ago, I went with my wife for a midweek break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. She has very specific (medical) dietary needs, and having checked with the hotel that these needs could be met, found that this was indeed the case: the staff handled the matter with care, sensitivity and competence. A little bit pricey, but for a special occasion, well worth it.

Room Tip: Tall gentlemen who wet-shave may wish to avoid room 2 where the shaving mirror requires one to stoop...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bathman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Just back from a four day break at the saxonville. Can honestly say that it was the best food I have had at any hotel in this country. Hotel is absolutely spotless, staff cannot do enough for you and are just like friends.
The hotel is in a quiet street just off the seafront, short walking distance from town with a private car park.
Will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The moment I stepped into the Saxonville I was taken straight back to the happy holidays of my childhood, where holidaymakers were made to feel special. In the 1960's hotels knew that people had saved hard for their week away and treated their guests accordingly. It is unfortunately rare these days to find this level of service. . . but look no further. From initial warm welcome to hassle free checkout I cannot fault this hotel. The wallpaper may not be to everyone's taste and the background music is certainly dated but the five course table d'hote menu was excellent value at £15 per head. The staff were professional and friendly and the cleanliness of the rooms and public areas was excellent. I note that previous reviews criticise the silver service at meals, but personally I found this charming. If guests wanted more juice or fruit (and I did!) it was delivered with a smile. I think my husband summed it up perfectly when he said that this hotel is everything that poor Sybil Fawlty aspired to but never achieved. Thankfully the Saxonville does not have a Basil, or if it does we didnt come across him! I hope that the demand for budget, self service accommodation does not force this bastion of true British hospitality into compromising its standards. Well done and thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room 15 was beautifully appointed but looked out onto a flat roof and the wall of a neighbouring bui...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynjohn2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
2,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,135 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxonville Hotel

Address: Ladysmith Avenue, Whitby YO21 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £112 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saxonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation in Award Winning Family Run Hotel. Well situated on Whitby's West Cliff. The comfort and hospitality of Saxonville Hotel can be found just a few minutes stroll from the narrow winding alleyways of this delightful historic town. Our Fairfield Restaurant has an excellent choice of traditional fair complemented by our extensive wine list and our special sweet trolley of mouthwatering desserts. No supplement on single rooms. Private Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saxonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxonville Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing