We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in a time warp”
Review of Saxonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saxonville Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Outdated and grotty although the location was good. Give this hotel a swerve at all costs. Top dollar, bottom quality. The food was less than average and the service even worse. The waitress asked me to turn my phone off whilst having breakfast even though it was on silent. Although i explained that i needed to be able to take a call at short notive due to a family illness and that nobody would know i would receive a call and i would speak only when outside the dining room. This fell on deaf power hungry ears so i left breakfast and vowed never to return to this so called 3 star hotel. Dirty bedding and bathroom left a very bad experience even worse.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FIamingMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxonville, Owner at Saxonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Wow, you didn't like us did you, and if you stayed in November 2012, its taken 8 months to tell us, says it all.

We take great pride in our appearance and cleanliness, and have a very good reputation for this.

It puzzles us why nothing was mentioned to us, whilst you were staying, and not giving us a name or dates when you stayed does not help.

Looking at other reviews for our Hotel, you obviously do not appreciate what we are trying to achieve, and do on a regular basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here for one night on Friday 19th July and found the hotel staff very friendly and welcoming, and the accommodation clean and very easy to find. We stayed in the four poster suite which was a good size and well maintained. We did not have an evening meal here, however breakfast on Saturday morning was fantastic. Full waitress service, which was second to none and a good choice of menu ranging from fresh fruit smoothies (delicious!) to the usual full english breakfast. The hotel itself had a lovely, friendly ambience throughout and ample secure parking was available just over the road. This hotel is in an ideal location for the beach, shops and the whole of Whitby and we will definitely be returning here and wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6, four poster suite which was lovely and would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duffs69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We can ot fault this hotel. The decor and ambience are of a quality not always found. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable, the food (both breakfast and dinner) was of a high quality, and the service was second to none. The service was personal, and we felt very much at ease.

Room Tip: Although no rooms have a sea view, the room with the four poster bed is very elegant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CockHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We found this hotel solely by researching Whitby on the internet. The comments about the Saxonville were generally very good and we have not been disappointed. The rooms and general areas were always clean and tidy. The location is good for the beach and town areas and a real plus is the off road parking. The staff were really good and I am sure they would do their best to accommodate any reasonable request. We booked the evening meal for the three days and found the five course table d'hote option was excellent. The breakfast has all the usual choices, including Whitby kippers and is served at your table. This is a very well run hotel and we would certainly look here first if visiting Whitby again.
We would like to again thank the owners and staff at the Saxonville for helping us have a very enjoyable stay at Whitby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The hotel is one of clearest establishments I've stayed in , rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated , situated in a good location for convenience and does have plenty of parking , breakfast was silver service which adds to the elegance of the stay , my only grumble was that prior to booking we weren't informed that we needed to pre book dinner arrangements and as we were a large group couldn't be catered for on short notice , i think that was very unfortunate for us and the establishment to miss out on so therefore can not comment on the dinner side . Have to agree with other reviewers the stairs were a bother but overall would stay again if i ever get the pleasure to return .

Room Tip: Pre book dinner arrangements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millermctojt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June and wish our stay had been longer. Very clean and spacious room although it was at the top of several flights of stairs. Staff very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the hotel twice and the food was excellent with a varied menu which changed daily. They have a very good wine list at reasonable prices. Bar prices are not over-priced unlike some hotels. Only small comment is that it would have been nice to see some cask ales. Free car park is a definite plus.
Would recommend this hotel and we hope to return on our next visit to Whitby.

Room Tip: There is no lift but staff are willing to help with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clartodm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A real Gem. The rooms are all of a VERY HIGH STANDARD and the cleanliness is second to none. The meals are also of a very high quality with fresh ingredients with a 4/5 course menu which is changed on a daily basis. The staff are all so helpful and courteous. We have stayed there for short breaks 3 years running and have also recommended to others but are reluctant as if too many discover it we may not be able to get booked ourselves!

Room Tip: We have stayed in all different rooms and have found all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,178 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
870 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxonville Hotel

Address: Ladysmith Avenue, Whitby YO21 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £79 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saxonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation in Award Winning Family Run Hotel. Well situated on Whitby's West Cliff. The comfort and hospitality of Saxonville Hotel can be found just a few minutes stroll from the narrow winding alleyways of this delightful historic town. Our Fairfield Restaurant has an excellent choice of traditional fair complemented by our extensive wine list and our special sweet trolley of mouthwatering desserts. No supplement on single rooms. Private Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saxonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxonville Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing