We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside seating, if staff don't sit there first”
Review of The Pier Inn

The Pier Inn
Ranked #50 of 216 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$17
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outside seating, if staff don't sit there first”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Beautiful day in Whitby last week, stopped for a drink and a bite to eat at this pub and managed to get the last table outside. Another table in full sunshine was occupied by the scruffy looking owner/manager and another member of staff who were completely oblivious to other potential customers who stopped, looked for a seat and walked on by. We drank our drinks and went to eat elsewhere as customers didn't seem too important

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Storrfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    103
    35
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A NO NO”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Hmm...what can i say! breakfast between 9am & 12 noon perfect so we thought, Dogs allowed, even better-9.15am all doors shut & locked, tapped on window a young girl appeared, we open at 9.30...ok we thought not 9am but fair enough. Took dogs for a run on the beach...now ready for breakfast-back we go now 9.45 STILL all doors locked, peered in people eating-looking at us, looking at them! peering in, tapping on windows, rattling doors NO ONE CAME. A liitle bird told us, that the resident guests have to eat first. So advertising breakfast from 9 till 12-make believe-by time guests finish their breakfast, the rest of us don't stand a chance! Went elsewhere suggest you do to. KIM BERNIE & DOGS

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bernard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great ales and friendly staff food quality perfect”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

great atmosphere, excellent service , cask ales superb big thanks to the owner and staff would certainly suggest and the best theakston ale i have sampled

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 518hot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“chips”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We went in to have a drink and a something for lunch, so with that l ordered a hot baguette which came with chips and my wife ordered a prawn baguette which on the menue looks like you dont get chips with, so l ordered a portion of chips. When it came they came with chips and we also got a plate of chips aswell at £2:50 l might add we said to the lad who brought it out about the chips and he said he would have told us they both came with chips, we asked to see the owner as he took the order but he never came we got mucky looks off the staff. I know its only £2:50 but it must mean more to him then happy customer

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riverman134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly Welcoming Pub”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Really friendly place that made us feel like regulars when we popped in on a short visit to Whitby. We even returned later on in the evening to watch a football match as our previous experience was so positive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisEvans460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pier Inn also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Pier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing