We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Cook's Quarters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cook's Quarters
Ranked #46 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel for a weekend. When we arrived, we were greeted by the very friendly Lisa who gave us a warm welcome. We were taken to our room which was spotlessly clean. There was also a selection of tea and coffee in the room. The en-suite bathroom was also spotless and the shower was fine however not very powerful. The breakfast was very yummy and filling, a full English with cereals, juices, tea and coffee and toast available too. In the afternoons there was cake served for a few hours, which was really tasty. The hotel was in an ideal location, opposite the park and only a 5 minute walk from Whitby town centre. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
69
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Me and my husband stayed at Cooks Quarters for a 1 night break. As superb little place situated just a 5 minute walk from the bars and restaurants. It was very welcoming, clean and the rooms were fabulous. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The price included an outstanding full English breakfast, which was cooked to order. Cakes and tea/coffee were also available free of charge between 3.00 - 6.00pm. There are a wide variety of films and books to borrow free of charge. We would highly recommend this B&B and will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Lovely little hotel just 5 mins from all the bars and restaurants. Was served complimentary freshly brewed coffee and home made cake on arrival - wasn't sure if it was rude or not to help ourselves to another slice?! The room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, bed was very comfy and the cooked breakfast in the morning was delicious - a vegetarian option is even available. Just sorry that we couldn't finish it! Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Book early! Only three rooms so we were given the family room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jja1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We have had a fantastic 1 night stay at Cooks Quarters. We had a fantastic welcome, our room was very large, clean and very comfortable. There is a short pleasant walk to the heart of Whitby and we really enjoyed our visit. The breakfast was very tasty and there was plenty of it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KattyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skegness
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at the cooks quarters for my 21st birthday treat and what a treat it was! We were greeted by a lovely lady called Lisa who was very friendly and very helpful! And then the cake... To die for! Cake and coffee every day, seriously some of the best cake we have had! You can also borrow books and films from the bookshelf, which was brilliant for January winter night stays! Finally the breakfast! So so nice, just cannot be missed. A stay you won't forget or regret!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at Cooks quarters as a treat for my daughter,and her American boyfriend who was on his first visit to the UK.
We loved it and so did my daughter and her boyfriend.
Whitby's a great place and I doubt you'll find a better place than Cooks Quarters.
It is so chilled and welcoming.
Definitely going back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the family room at the top of the house, beautiful decor (made me want to re-do my whole house!!!), amazing views, comfy beds and a lovely welcome. Gorgeous cake & coffee and apple juice for the kids in the afternoon, really loved this place. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, cooked fresh with freshly brewed coffee to boot, can't recommend highly enough!
Would love to have stayed longer if work hadn't gotten in the way, we love Whitby, so will definetly return to Cooks Quarters, and have told family and friends about this gem of a place :)

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozza2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.6 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Dene B&B
Park Dene B&B
#18 of 151 in Whitby
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 151 in Whitby
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riftswood B&B
Riftswood B&B
#11 of 151 in Whitby
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 151 in Whitby
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waverley
The Waverley
#26 of 151 in Whitby
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Quarters

Property: Cook's Quarters
Address: 2 Chubb Hill Road, Whitby YO21 1JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house opposite the beautiful Pannett Park in the centre of Whitby less than five minutes walk from the main shopping and harbour tourist areas, bus and railway stations (steam trains depart here) from which the north Yorkshire moors are easily explored.Our recently renovated Victorian Seaside Villa now offers high quality en-suite accommodation with flat screen satellite TV’s , tea and coffee facilities etc in all of our large comfortable rooms . With only three rooms we have the time to provide our guests with friendly relaxed accommodation and quality catering .Enjoy your stay in Whitby with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cook's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing