We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh oh oh and a pot of tea!”

Whitby Old Lifeboat
Ranked #1 of 17 Tours in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
449 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Oh oh oh and a pot of tea!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent the day in Whitby and after reading the reviews decided to take this trip. Skipper Barry and his mate were amazing. Like the chuckle bros but funny. The boat is full of history and skip was happy to stop his standup and talk about it. Ok the weather was cold but sunny but an excellent trip, Excellent value and we both really enjoyed it although we missed the seal! Trip took about half hour and went down the river past the stunning scenery and draw dropping property. If u want a laugh and great atmosphere do this trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank MarcandLauraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    20
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Good trip out, we were kept amused and interested by the skipper and and mate on board, would be even better when weather warmed up.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manc missionary worker from London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good fun!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great fun and the lads were welcoming and brilliant - thank you! Really enjoyed the town - first visit for us but will certainly be back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazbazpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a very good time on this trip on a lovely old vessel. The captain was very funny and had plenty of anecdotes to amuse us all with as well as the usual tour information. He took us all out of the harbour and out to sea, but we had to do a U-turn pretty quickly as the wind was higher than expected. This made for a hilariously bumpy brief ride on the sea waves and my husband and I, along with some kids and their family, found it very funny indeed as it was like a rollercoaster ride! We were brought back safe and sound to go round the river instead, which was a shame as the sea was such good fun, but we could understand the need for the health and safety call!
It was a lovely run up and down the river and going under the swing bridge and waving at everyone were particular highlights.
It is a lovely old vessel and we had a great time. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hello Sailor!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The best £3 spent in Whitby!

As it was a really wet day when we saw this trip, so we decided to return the next morning. We did!

It was a blowy but beautifully sunny April morning when we boarded The Mary Ann Hepworth. Barry, at the helm, ensured we were all aboard and safely ensconced before setting off. His lighthearted commentary and banter with the passengers made us all feel at ease. As we headed out to sea from the harbour mouth we met the wind and sea head on. It did get a bit choppy, so Barry chose to head back in and took us up the river instead.

During the exhilarating encounter with the North Sea we became very aware of just what Barry and his fellow lifeboatmen may have endured in this open cockpit, saver of lives (271?). At no time did we feel unsafe, but just inexperienced! Hats of to the RNLI and its crews!

If in Whitby - just do it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Churchmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitby Old Lifeboat also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Whitby Old Lifeboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing