We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor show”

White Horse and Griffin
Ranked #30 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$64 - US$69
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor show”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I recommended the White Horse and Griffin to a friend. he stayed the night, we joined for dinner. We've dined there often before and had no hesitation in recommending.
What a disappointment this time. Fish and chips had under-done chips, tasteless mushy peas. The other meals were merely OK. Now if you charge £15 for cod and chips it needs to be special and it really wasn't even average. It was on the menu with Tartar sauce. I had to ask for it and I received a dish of mayonnaise - that's it. It wasn't even a tasty mayo. The young man serving us was very cheerful and engaging, but he insisted on calling us "guys" and interrupted our conversation about four times. He didn't even attempt to make a gentle entry - we jumped each time. I'm sure he thought he was being jolly. No! Pain in the **** gets closer. We also felt we were being rushed by him because we were being rushed by him. e.g. he wanted to take coffee orders before the cheese board had been ordered - because he happen to have some coffee handy.
£16 for a Yorkshire cheese board - OK. Cheeses were magnificent but only tiny amounts and there were only five not the promised six. When questioned the chef said, "run out of that one." No apology, no explanation up front, no extra piece of another to make up for the short fall.
Waiters should carry glasses on a tray, not with their grubby fingers round the bit we are going to drink from. It isn't difficult.
Come WH&G. Get a grip and get back to how you were.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clive47_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    126
    46
    31
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Do not miss having a fish meze here, fresh seafood beautifully presented, young and professional staff, atmospheric pub. 2nd time I've been here, this place does not disappoint!

Only down side was the bar area is far too small, as it's a lovely place to drink too.

We look forward to going back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Read a lot about the White Horse & Griffin so decided to find out ourselves. We had the lamb and the plaice and both were excellent quality (another veg for the plaice would have made the dish perfect). Will definitely return and pass on recommendation to family and friends.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lowerowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hirst”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I took my son who was home on leave from the forces for a treat it was the first time for him on Saturday 10th May. I’ve been a few times myself with a friend Every time we have been it’s been brilliant. The meals the service and staff are excellent they treat you like royalty. On Saturday we had steak it was brilliant the Presentation was excellent The Staff are wonderful they really treat you like royalty. My son was very pleased with everything and will be visiting them again as soon as he’s home on leave again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great to see a return to past qualitiy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a wonderful lunch of lobster & skinny chips and goats cheese salad and both were absolutely delicious. The changes the new owners have made are great - retaining the feel but greatly improving the space. And the food was of the standard the White Horse & Griffin was famous for years ago. Well done.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Horse and Griffin also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to White Horse and Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing