We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Java

Java
Ranked #60 of 215 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican, British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The Chai tea was delicious, but the staff were miserable, indifferent to customers, will not return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank b h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    40
    6
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Try the Hazelnut Mocha with cream! its yum. Really liked the food here as well, we had the Croque Monsieur and the Croque Madame and was the best i've ever had, even better than the ones we had in France and Belgium. You may have a little wait for your food at busy times but it's well worth it as its all cooked fresh. The cashier is also making 10 million coffee's at once so just be paitcent and you will be rewarded. It's a busy place, very popular and deservedly so.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NaffSlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Whitby, nay, for miles around.”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

After several bitter / badly made coffees around and about this lovely stretch of Yorkshire coast, what a pleasure to find a cup to enjoy here. I only sampled coffee & one delicious pastry so can only rate those, and I give them 5/5. Smooth, delicious, gentle flavour, and generously sized while economically priced.

Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chocolate peanut butter pie latte....What!?”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Java got five stars from the first sip. If your in the mood for an excellent latte, and your in whitby, don't miss it. Nice atmosphere and solid customer service. No nitpicking here. 5 star all the way!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcaste00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts!”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We visit Whitby at least a couple of times a year and it wouldn't be complete without breakfast at Java. Good strong hot coffee and fantastic menu, particularly like theTexan breakfast and the Croque Monsieur. Their scrambled eggs are the creamiest I have tasted! This is even more surprising when you see the tiny kitchen - amazing they can produce such delicious food in such a small space.
The only reason I can't give it a "5" - the staff can be a bit distracted by locals at times. Don't get me wrong, I'm a great supporter of small local businesses being heavily involved in their community, but Whitby is a tourist destination, after all, and the staff sometimes forget this.
Minor niggle, being VERY picky. Can't fault it in any other way.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Java also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing