We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top value and service”
Review of Java

Java
Ranked #59 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top value and service”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This place does breakfasts to die for, and lunches, coffees and cakes. Being coming here for years, each visit is a good as the last... Toffee apple steamer... NOM

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Solo_Beckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    35
    6
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Never disappoints. ”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

This is a great coffee shop with just that. Great coffee, food is excellent too. Even simple chips and egg is available. Lovely chunky chips and runny egg. The breakfasts always look amazing but I usually just have coffee.
It's great to watch the world go by or catch up on emails etc with free wifi.
Prices always seem reasonable and value for money. I prefer independent coffee shops like this.

Helpful?
Thank alibongobaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Popped in here for a quick coffee and a cookie with friends! Great atmosphere, BEST and most original coffee in Whitby and scrumptious cookies! Definitely will be visiting again

Helpful?
Thank Dakota S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant brekkie”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The coffee was great, but juice and smoothies were good too. Not only that, this was the best cooked breakfast I have ever had. The eggs were almost like poached eggs, despite being fried, they didn't have any of the horrible crispy bit. All in all an incredibly tasty, filling breakfast! Perfect before a long car journey home.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I was hoping for a lot more from this coffee shop.

The coffee itself was okay but nothing special. Although I didn't have any, the food on display looked like typical Starbucks fare and didn't entice me.

On a damp Wednesday afternoon the place was empty. Modern music was playing and there was a TV on mute. There was precious little ambience.

Maybe these modern-style places are a youngster's scene but I'm afraid I can't recommend it and wish I'd gone to Sherlock's just up the road.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JesOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Java also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing