We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and ocean view”

The Fisherman's Wife
Ranked #30 of 228 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Fisherman's Wife serves traditional fish and chips along with an extensive range of seafood and other dishes at its superb seafood restaurant in the beautiful seaside town of Whitby. With high quality, locally sourced ingredients our friendly, helpful staff will serve you fantastic fish and chips in our light and airy restaurant whilst you sit back and enjoy some of the best views in Whitby.
Reviewed 14 November 2018

Our dinner here was delicious, and the service was excellent. We had a relaxed meal with a beautiful view of the ocean.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank 4step8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2018

We stopped for fish & chips here recently after spending time in Whitby. Large family group of 6 adults and 2 children. They got us a high chair & plastic cutlery for the kids without asking and generally made us feel very welcome. The fish & chips was freshly cooked & very tasty. One of our party had the scampi who said it was the best they'd ever had! The service was good even though they were very busy. Excellent value for money - will definitely visit again if in the area.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Regular visitors to Whitby and fast becoming fish and chips experts we decided to use this restaurant for the first time . Six of us were promptly sat by the efficient and welcoming front of house staff and given our selected drinks . It was only after we placed our order that our one only non fish eater was told that the burger she had ordered was not available . No big deal , she said , I will have chips and bread .......no fuss. Oysters were lovely , creamy, fresh and plump and eaten with lemon or vinegar and shallots. What's with this chorizo combination these days....it does not go well together. Fish and chips arrived and it was ok but tepid . My wife sent her chips back because they were cold and ours were just a little bit better but only just. Prices match aprox other similar restaurants in town but , can anyone justify £ 28 for half lobster or £43 for a full one in a fairly basic place like this one? I know they are not in season but .... come on . Goes without say that we did not have one.Coffee on offer was cafetiere or instant as the machine was apparently out of order so we opted to have it somewhere else. We might give it another try in the near future to see if we get a red hot experience rather than barely warm like this time.

Date of visit: October 2018
3  Thank salvatorebosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

My wife and I wanted to have a pleasant meal for our last night before we went home the following day. We walked down into Whitby and saw The Fisherman’s Wife. We had passed this restaurant on more than one occasion and thought that it looked nice inside.

On walking in we were met by an exceptionally smart member of staff who guided us to a table - he was exceptionally polite.

We had a seat that overlooked the harbour entrance; however we could not see a great deal as it was dusk.

The menu was really good. Some great choices of food. I decided to have the fish pie and my wife wanted the scampi.

When the food arrived it looked superb. Really well presented. We soon tucked in and Hoped that it tasted as good as it looked. My fish pie was you great, you could taste and see the individual elements of fish. My wife had a plate full of scampi - I think she enjoyed it as she never talked until she finished with a smile!

After finishing our food we noticed other dishes being delivered to tables - the muscles looked and smelt amazing.

In summary this is a great restaurant. I wish we had visited earlier during our stay - if we had we would have gone back. The staff look so smart in a uniform and they have very good customer service - they make you feel a bit special.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank P6083XSanthonyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Best views of the sea and lighthouses. Fantastic, friendly staff. Great fish and chips but also an amazing seafood menu. Always good.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank aliwalls2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fisherman's Wife also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Fisherman's Wife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing