We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Scones” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Hamond Tea Rooms and Cafe

W Hamond Tea Rooms and Cafe
Ranked #6 of 21 Coffee & Tea in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super Scones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Enjoyed a super cream tea in this lovely restaurant. Staff friendly and "super" clean restaurant and toilets. A very enjoyable time was had. Restaurant was very quiet, think people not aware that there is a cafe above the jewelers shop. Was a bit pricey compared to some other cafes but the quality was worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    32
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Missed by many this tea shop is above a jet shop at the bottom of the Abbey steps. Lovely teas and some unusual cakes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew712Eves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Above the Jet selling workshop at the foot of the 199 steps.
You wouldn't know this tea room was here,.
Its through the shop and up the stairs.
It is modern, chique and serves the best lunch we have had in our many visits to Whitby Recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 187067Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice coffee and cake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

A nice enough piece of cake with good coffee. The service was friendly. There was nothing wrong with our visit at all, I don't know if the 5 star reviews are justified though as I found this a very average tearoom. It does what it says on the tin and the cake is homemade.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank supermouse27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“drinks on top form :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Called in here on our way down from the abbey. Didnt eat here as we had had a big breakfast .i had a lovely hot chocolate and my partner had a tea, the girls are lovely & the place is spotlessly clean .will deffo be back :) .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank minxycookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed W Hamond Tea Rooms and Cafe also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to W Hamond Tea Rooms and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing