We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm and inviting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Candys Cafe

Candys Cafe
Ranked #8 of 14 Dessert in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating
hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“warm and inviting”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

warm, welcoming, clean and tidy. Value for money and wonderful carrot cake. A full range of tea and coffee including decaf.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank borris1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    16
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service - excellent cafe”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was the highlight of my visit to Robin Hoods Bay. Food, cakes and drinks were excellent. Won't forget the Yorkshire Curd Tart - yum!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Preston1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Bountiful breakfast”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Beautiful bacon with loads of good mushrooms and tomatoes - really lovely. Brown bloomer toast - very welcome. But all let down by poor sausages. Welcoming service and table overlooking the bay. Def return but please source better sausages!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WaltonSmiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing soup!”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My wife and I stopped at Candy's for lunch as we saw the steep hill down into the old bit of Robin Hood's Bay and didn't want to face climbing it after lunch!! We both ordered their soups, I had the broccoli & Stilton, and my wife had leek & celery. They were both very hot, creamy and delicious, and both came with a warm, toasted mini French stick & butter.

There are seats inside for when the weather isn't as nice as we had, but we sat outside admiring the sea view from their seating area.

I would recommend Candy's to anyone visiting, and we would definitely return if we come back to the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyHCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely scones, lovely views”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Robin Hood's Bay is a lovely spot on north Yorkshire coast with a number of little tearooms to whet your appetite. We opted for Candy's at Bank Top (near to the car park), with its little booth-like tables and colourful menu. Plenty of choices, but we simply wanted some cheese toasties and cream teas - large, fresh, homemade scones generously smothered in strawberry jam and whipped fresh cream...yum! There's an ice cream bar too serving sundaes for the kids. Price-wise, very reasonably priced. Overall - Excellent!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JuniGreenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Candys Cafe also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Candys Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing