We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth Visiting”
Review of Candys Cafe

Candys Cafe
Ranked #8 of 14 Dessert in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth Visiting”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Went into this café for a snack and was worth it. Had tea/coffee and the homemade cakes were excellent and reasonably priced. Very clean and had fantastic views as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsAJ284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    16
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm welcome for weary legs”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We arrived at the café 20 minutes before closing on a Friday evening having been down into the village and back up again. We asked tentatively about ordering cooked meals for 4 people and they were happy to oblige.

The Food was good value, well presented, generously portioned and the service first class. We weren't rushed in any way, even though it was well past closing by the time we had finished.

The café and customer facilities were clean and comfortable. Plus there are excellent views over the village and bay from the window seats.

Clearly the owners of this café have an appreciation for customer satisfaction and the prospect of repeat business.

Candy's will be top of our list to stop off for something to eat or drink next time we are in Robin Hoods Bay.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RathboneFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent spot with superb views”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Its 4 years since I last visited Candy's (and Robin Hood's Bay), and when I last went I had a lovely cream tea so headed straight there on this return trip.

I'm pleased to report that it is still just as good. Friendly and attentive staff as soon as you walk in with plenty of seating both indoors and out. I ordered a cappucino and chocolate covered flapjack and took advantage of the outside seating to enjoy the spectacular views. The flapjack was seriously good.

Call in here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattfromLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A familiar spot transformed for the better”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This cafe at the top of Robin Hood's Bay has, until recently, been uninspiring. But new owners have transformed it. Excellent coffee, good sandwiches, a seductively priced full English breakfast and a patio with breathtaking views over the sea make this a great place to stop

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nitram123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridlington
Level Contributor
205 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Spotless, and tasty, good priced food”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

A lovely little cafe with plenty of outside and inside seating, overlooking the bay. We just had a toasted sandwich and portion of chips, but this came with a nice fresh salad garnish and service was prompt despite being busy. Worth a visit before or after tackling that hill!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rosebudBridlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Candys Cafe also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Candys Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing