We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BACK FOR MORE OF THE BEST..............”
Review of RomeroJo's - CLOSED

RomeroJo's
Price range: US$9 - US$22
Cuisines: Mexican, Costa Rican, Caribbean, Cuban, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Authentic Latin food & the UK's only Costa Rican restaurant. Fully licensed. All dishes are freshly made with quality ingredients sourced locally wherever possible. Informal, friendly dining from 5-10pm Tues-Sunday. Try our premium Costa Rican coffee exclusive to RomeroJo's or our home-made rhum punch. Dog-friendly room, childrens & vegetarian options plus take-out available. Groups welcome. Most dishes are not spicy - you can add heat/spice to your liking with our complimentary house chilli salsa.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BACK FOR MORE OF THE BEST..............”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We returned to Whitby this weekend for a short break, its nearly a year since we were last in the area
After our fantastic dining experience at Romereo, jo"s last time there was only one place to dine on the Sunday night for us
We booked a table for four, two adults and two teenage children, and arrived to a warm welcome from the staff, with a glass of rum punch on offer for the grown ups.......
We had two shared starter platters between the four of us, cheesey nachos and caribbean chicken wings with the "fires of hell sauce" delicious.................
Our main meals were ordered and all arrived beautifully presented, the family tucked into cheese quesadilla,chicken quesadilla, beef tacos, from the mexican menu and i had the ropa vieja with shredded beef tasty vegetables and a side of black beans mmmmmm, its the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This restaurant is an authentic in latin american dining experience, we love it
A great selection of bottled beers are on offer at reasonable prices
Romereo jos we love your style! we shall be returning to you very soon
Michael and family

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank splitbox40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    41
    23
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We ate here whilst on holiday in Whitby, the Food was excellent, filling and very tasty and the staff were very friendly and attentive.

Whilst the decor is very simple and rustic, I feel this adds to the charm, the Menu whilst simple was more than adequate and the prices were more than reasonable.

We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

PS. The Rhum Punch is awesome :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueBa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brill food and lovely staff!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I thought it was brilliant. It was my boyfriends birthday and a few of us came here, we rang in advance because the place always looks busy! The staff did a fab job, they set the table up with balloons and made us feel welcome especially the waitress and the chef, they both took there time to speak to us when they were busy!! Would defiantly recommend it, food was lovely, Just the right amount and it's not too expensive. We would defiantly go again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tylerhorta93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great staff!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I visited here on our first night at Whitby Goth Weekend, and halfway through our meal, booked a table for the following night. We then managed to get in a 3rd meal before our long drive back at the end of the weekend. Cannot recommend this place highly enough. Great food and great staff. Can't wait to go back again in November when we are next in Whitby.

I highly recommend both the Casado and Ceviche dishes. The volcanic coffee is pretty amazing too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, some work needed.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We've lived in Whitby for about 9 months and have always been intrigued by the little staircase which serves as the entrance to RomeroJo's so yesterday we finally decided to try it. When we arrived we were the only people there but, having a child under two, we've grown accustomed to beating the tea time rush. The restaurant is very cosy and the food menu has plenty of choice which was all reasonably priced.

In a nutshell, we absolutely loved the food, you could tell that it had been freshly prepared and it tasted beautiful but unfortunately there are a few things that let the place down. The waiter seemed initially shocked to see us then chose to take his break as soon as we had been served our food, leaving us alone in the restaurant which I found quite odd. He seemed very inexperienced and lacked the friendly conversation we have grown accustomed to from other places in town.
The 'free glass of rum punch' was nothing more than a small sample in a large wine glass which I feel is quite misleading and could cause a few negative comments from other customers.

We would definitely eat here again but we hope that the owner takes on board our comments because it has such potential.

Helpful?
1 Thank JellyandSpoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoJo0101, Owner at RomeroJo's, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your choosing to dine with us and your feedback. We really appreciate our loyal regular local clientelle so good to hear you wish to become one of them :-) The waiter was new, we make a point of employing local people and training them so they have new skills. We were very busy over the weekend and he is doing great which was represented in the number of tables giving me positive feedback on him and the large tips he received. Nobody serving ever takes a break during service - they may however pop to the storeroom to collect supplies. Thanks again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RomeroJo's also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Sandsend, Whitby
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing