We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the Jet this is Whitby's hidden gem”
Review of RomeroJo's - CLOSED

RomeroJo's
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, Mexican, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Authentic Latin food & the UK's only Costa Rican restaurant. Fully licensed. All dishes are freshly made with quality ingredients sourced locally wherever possible. Informal, friendly dining from 5-10pm Tues-Sunday. Try our premium Costa Rican coffee exclusive to RomeroJo's or our home-made rhum punch. Dog-friendly room, childrens & vegetarian options plus take-out available. Groups welcome. Most dishes are not spicy - you can add heat/spice to your liking with our complimentary house chilli salsa.
Reviewed 20 June 2014

fed up of fish n chips we gave it a try,not quiet sure what to expect......WOW what a lovely friendly little place up a flight of stairs on Golden Lion Bank,by the Sutcliffe Gallery. Free rhum punch and pistachios whilst perusing the varied Latin American menu, not only Costarican, but Peruvian, Cuban and the Caaribeen too. the young English waiter helpfully guided us through the menu and apologised that my initial choice was only available on the weekend ,this was a wednesday. from where we were sitting i saw the meal being prepared and the chef came into the bar area to take some fresh herbs for the dish. The Casado, the Cuban national dish was perfect, not spicey or hot, just right, as was the Peruvian on my husband chose. Pudding was Ice cream but i opted for a sorbet. a bottle of house rose and a bill of only £35, we'll be back next time we visit Whitby!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank TeessideTawnyowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoJo0101, Owner at RomeroJo's, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you! You're a gem to :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 144 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

To be honest I wasnt expecting much atmosphere on a Wednesday night in Whitby but RomeroJos was absolutely charming :) Lovely friendly service and beautiful food ! The free rum punch went down a treat too ! Brilliant value and would certainly return next time we in Whitby. Can imagine a Saturday night of good food and rum punch would be a blast !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gail653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoJo0101, Owner at RomeroJo's, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

And you're a charming customer who makes running our restaurant a joy - thank you so much :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A real gem in Whitby, do not be put off by its location & lack of interior design, the food is fabulous!
The menu is an extensive selection of South American food, I had Mexican & my husband chose from the Cuban selection. Cannot fault anything, delicious tasting food, friendly & informative staff, lively atmosphere & the chef even came over to introduce himself. It's little touches like this that make a huge difference!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Space1730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoJo0101, Owner at RomeroJo's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed yourselves :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We decided to dine here after seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor.
We wanted starters so opted for spicy fishcakes (be warned, you get 4) and hot buffalo wings. Really good food with a lovely salad side.

For main we both opted for the Casado - one in pork and one in beef. Both were very tasty with more than enough food to keep you going. Basic cuisine done extremely well.
Worth it if you fancy something different.
The staff were really lovely too - well recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Acebiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoJo0101, Owner at RomeroJo's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you! You choosing to dine with us and your review is genuinely appreciated :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stumbled across this little place looking for somewhere to eat that wasn't the normal fish and chips, a friendly informative young guy served us complimentary rum punch while we perused the menu, he was on hand to describe some dishes we'd never heard of (there were several Costa Rican dishes) we ordered two sharing starters, one buffalo wings and chicken nachos both were lovely, then for main course we both went for traditional Costa Rican dishes - fairly similar to the more widely known Mexican but slightly different with lovely fresh flavours and texture. I was given some of there house made chilli sauce to go with my meal and it was seriously good.
Great atmosphere and Pinot Grigio at £13 a bottle, absolutely cracking little eaterie.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Andrea_pd50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoJo0101, Owner at RomeroJo's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you so much for writing a review - we really appreciate it :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RomeroJo's also viewed

 
Sandsend, Whitby
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing