We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well located comfortable cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maritimus Cottage

A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
A view of the cottage from the riverside beach. The view from the front room .... you don't get closer to the river and beach than this !!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
56 reviews
A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
A view of the cottage from the riverside beach.
The view from the front room .... you don't get closer to the river and beach than this !!
Master bedroom benefits from en-suite facilities, solid oak furniture, wardrobe and bedside table.
Additional double bedroom with fabulous views across the harbour.
View from the upstairs double bedroom window.
Single bedroom with views across the harbour.
Lounge area with 40 inch flat screen TV, DVD and Sky TV.
View from the lounge window
Family bathroom with large shower and roll top bath.
Modern galley kitchen with induction hob and oven, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WendiH4
Merseyside UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent location, but a few issues”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ok, so let's start with the good points. this beach cottage is in a perfect location - very close to everything in gorgeous Whitby with absolutely magnificent views. The fixtures and fittings are of a high standard and it is really pretty, also has Sky TV and wi-fi. Now for the less good points. It is much smaller than it looks on the pics. We were a group of 3 - self, hubby and teenage son. Basically - we filled the place. Yes, it does sleep 5, but 5 would not be able to relax together in the lounge or eat together unless you liked to get very up close and personal. Secondly - I'm assuming it's because we went late summer, but the cottage is looking a bit shabby internally - especially the kitchen/lounge. It needs a lick of paint and a damn thorough clean! The wheelie bin hadn't been emptied in weeks (I'm sure this isn't the owners fault, but after chatting to a very nice chap who swept the roads every day - the instructions for leaving the bin out were totally wrong) and there were piles of rubbish and a broken telly in the little yard - again I don't think it was the owners fault, but it didn't give a very good first impression. But my most negative point which I feel needs to be addressed urgently is the smell that comes from the en-suite. It stinks! The en-suite uses a Saniflo pump. I'm not sure if they always smell - but this one certainly did, it was really unpleasant. I tried phoning the agent to report it, but I couldn't get an answer from them.
A few tips as well. This cottage is definitely not suitable if you are mobility impaired. The access to the cottage is via either a steep slope or steps, there are then steps up to the cottage. The stairs inside the cottage are freaky - I suggest if you are staying with young children you take a stair gate (and if you are over 6ft - you take a hard hat!)
So - this is a lovely cottage in a great location, but it really needs to be taken out of service for a couple of weeks to give it a decorate and a deep clean. It would also be nice if the owner invested in a parking permit for the use of guests. I know we went peak season, but when we arrived it took us nearly an hour of driving around Whitby to find a space. I'm going to click "yes" I would recommend to a friend as the location is brilliant, and deep down the cottage is gorgeous, but I would recommend that they check it has had a bit of a re-furb first.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The smell
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the cottage beach location and proximity to the old town. Apologies for the kitchen and en-suite area. I have followed this up with the cleaning agent who will check those areas specifically in future - but, in the case of the kitchen, I always hope the previous guests leave pots & pans etc in a clean state. The Whitby parking situation is poor in the old town and we have to rely on public car parks as there are no parking permits available for holiday cottages. Finally I have checked with the local council and they have agrred to speak to the bin collectors who must have missed the pick up day you mentioned.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerrismit...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well located comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was very well located close to the harbour, town and shops. However, not very well equipped if you are self catering e.g. no cleaning cloths to wipe down worktops.
The beds were comfortable but the sofa was less so. The cottage would benefit from some new cushions. Otherwise we had no complaints and would pribably stay there again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review. I am gald you enjoyed staying at the cottage. I will ensure that cleaning clothes, sponges etc are made available in future and I have organised new soft furnishings for the sofa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dess789
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday in lovely cottage”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Had a great stay in this lovely, quirky cottage. The location and views are second to none, right in the centre of town on the edge of the harbour within easy walking distance of everything Whitby has to offer. The cottage was very clean and tidy, and the furnishings were of a great standard and very comfortable, especially the bed. The parking was an issue but unloaded the car late in the evening and loaded up early in the morning so drove the car up Church street and parked right by the top of the passageway, and bought a 3 day pass for parking which we could also use in all the other car parks we stopped in during our travels around the whole area. The only very slight negative was the toaster, despite altering the settings we only ever ended up with burnt toast. The cottage was so nice the brother in law who came to Whitby for the day and came to the cottage liked it so much he said he would be looking to book the cottage for next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the cottage and its beachside location. I agree the building is definitely quirky given its 300 year pedigree. The Dualist toaster can be temperamental and does require watching carefully.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racqel
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for a weekend break!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Great communication, directions & instructions from owner. Good location. Lovely place. Well equipped. Only downside is there is No parking and staying on Bank Holidays means car parks are full so it's quite a challenge. Nevertheless would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review and I am happy you enjoyed the beach location and closeness to Whitby Old Town. I agree that parking can be a challenge and the best option is always to buy an advance paking permit so that you can use any public car park in the Scarborough and Whitby area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you for your comments. I have contacted the cleaning agent who will check the kitchen pots and pans in future - however I do rely on the previous guests to leave the kitchen as it was when they arrived. I have also updated the websites cottage description to ensure that future guests understand the steps from the yard to the front door.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MrsTarryt...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location but not for young children.”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is ideally located, in fact you couldn't get much more central! It is located just off the lovely cobbled Church Street, down quite a steep, public alley but in a private gated courtyard. The sea is literally at your doorstep and every room has stunning views.

There is a steep alley leading to/from the cottage and then a steep flight of steps up to it, no problem if you are fully able and not lugging the worlds heaviest pram up and down (we didn't check so our own fault)

Inside it is bright, clean and modern although very cosy. I can't fault the decor apart from the 2 upstairs bedroom windows have no blinds or curtains which will be a problem if you have children needing to nap or if you go in the light summer months.

The views out to the sea and to Whitby were beautiful - certainly worth a stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: size of property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed the proximity to the beach and sea views. I have updated the cottages description to make sure that future guests are aware of the outside steps.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachael c
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely accomadation with nice little touches”
Reviewed 7 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage had all the quirkiness you would hope in a cottage in Whitby but with all the mod cons. This is 1 place where we have stayed that has had a high level of cleanliness - it is based right in the heart of the old town & surrounded with lovely little gift shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirkiness of property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the cottage and its central location in Whitby Old Town.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing