We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky cottage with fantastic views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maritimus Cottage

The view from the front room .... you don't get closer to the sea and beach than this !!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from the front room .... you don't get closer to the sea and beach than this !!
The view of the house from the beach Main bedroom benefits from en-suite facilities, solid oak furniture, wardrobe and bedside table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
51 reviews
The view from the front room .... you don't get closer to the sea and beach than this !!
The view of the house from the beach
Main bedroom benefits from en-suite facilities, solid oak furniture, wardrobe and bedside table
2nd upstairs double bedroom with fabulous views across the harbour
View from the upstairs double bedroom window
Single bedroom with view across the harbour
Lounge area with 40' flat screen TV, DVD and Sky TV
View from the lounge window
Cook a tasty meal for the family in this modern galley kitchen.
Family bathroom to enjoy a relaxing soak in the bath.
Family bathroom with a rather spacious shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue Y
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quirky cottage with fantastic views”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A little treasure right in the heart of Whitby! Superb views from every window. The place has been renovated to a high standard with very good quality furnishings. The cottage is very quirky which just adds to the character.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Thank you for your review. The cottage location couldn't be better for sea views and I like to ensure that all furnishings are comfortable and offers a home from home place to stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molliegra...
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Maritimus Cottage Whitby”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Just got back from the cottage it was perfect in every way ,we will be booking again. Fantastic location ,very comfortable and amazing veiws

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2016
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoJoBean8...
Lyme Regis, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quirky little cottage ideally situated.”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We've just spent the week in Maritimus Cottage and were lucky to have had some good weather!! The cottage is quirky with sloping ceilings and floors and funky little wardrobes, it has lovely period features such as the sash windows the wooden blinds and the gorgeous roll top bath but has almost all the mod cons TV wifi dishwasher central heating etc.
It's ideally situated just below the Abbey and easy walking distance for the swing bridge and other side of town. Next door is the rowing club where you can buy a cheap drink and enjoy beautiful views with friendly locals. And within five minutes you have a plethora of restaurants and takeaways to choose from.
The cottage is small but it's just about comfortable and yes there are steps up to it but they're fine we had a five year old and a 1year old who managed them no problem. It's an added bonus that you have a small beach just outside that was ideal for crabbing and flying a kite!
A few niggles would be that the double bed on the top floor slopes and we had to prop it up with books so perhaps some proper raisers on the right side would improve it. The bedding and the towels had stains and marks and some towels were fraying which wasn't the end of the world as we could smell they were clean but it wasn't appealing. Also the corner sofa in the lounge isn't locked together so on one occasion my son suddenly disappeared through a gap that opened up!! Highly amusing at the time but I can imagine if it was an older person it might have been a different story.
Overall I would recommend Maritimus Cottage because it is lovely clean and ideally situated and we had a wonderful holiday there.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and its amenities. The cottage is nearly over 200 years old - giving it a quirky appeal which we've updated with modcons and new sash windows. The downside is that the walls are not straight - hence the corner sofa that doesn't fit in corner :-) and the slight slope on the bedroom floor. I will follow up with the cleaners to ensure all the bedding is checked and I'll replace those towels. I hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a great time. The owner was very helpful with his instructions. I'd advise you to follow his guide to get in. You do turn into Church Street (signposted for the Abbey). It's
narrow & busy but you can get down. Park where you see the sign for Rowing Club. Unload
your stuff into the cottage & then park the car. We got a permit for the week & parked on the car park behind the Tourist Information Office. The cottage was excellent. A bit quirky inside, it is a old cottage, but fitted out really nicely. Everything you need, everything worked
and it was nice & clean. The views were great, always something happening right outside your window. Whitby was a lovely place to wander round with some lovely places to visit.
And lots of nice place to eat & drink. I would recommend anyone to have a visit to Whitby and if you can book this cottage. We had a great time !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nicely fitted out & nice & clean
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review. The views from the windows looking out into the harbour and sea always have something to catch the eye and I like to ensure the cottage is comfortable for all guests. I hope to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krisnenad...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“quirky but comfy cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Whitby for three nights at the end of June and I wanted to find a harbourside property in the old town. Three beds and the internet were our essential criteria as well as sea views and above all it has to be comfortable.
Maritimus cottage ticks all those boxes and more. Really central (50 yards from the Board and the Duke of York) a decent sky TV, and all three bedrooms and living room overlooking the water!
I read trip advisor reviews and they helped me to choose the cottage, a couple referred to it being limited in space and yes, one wardrobe and the downstairs loo are a bit tight but don't let this put you off, the rest of the cottage is super comfy.
Unloading the car is easy as the cobble road is wider at the top of the yard, sorting out a parking permit at the visitor centre was straight forward too and we got parked easily at the Church Street car park.
Booking was easy and the information we received was helpful, we will certainly be staying again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sea and harbour views
Liked least: no washing machine
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review. The cottage location couldn't be better for sea views and I like to ensure that everything is comfortable and offers a home from home place to stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica...
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect location for town, sea and old town”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

You arrive at the property via Church Street the Main Street in Old Town beautiful characterful, quaint individual shops. Then go down a narrow lane toward the sea where the property is to be found. The cottage is beautifully furnished and very clean and welcoming. The ever changing views are absolutely gorgeous day and night and the wooden shutters are a lovely touch. When you venture out the whole of Whitby is easily walkable from the 199 steps to the Abbey to the harbour, town and station. If I had to find any faults it would be that I personally found the beds too firm . But would love to return again for another magical break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The firmness of the beds
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
Thank you for your review. The cottage location means that you get the benefit of the wonderful sea views but also easy access to all the old town shops, restaurants and the abbey. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiggleNog...
2 reviews
“Lovely views, right in the heart of Whitby”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A well appointed and well equipped cottage, very quiet considering where its situated. Good views of the harbour.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
Thank you for your review. I am glad you were happy with the furnishings and facilities at the cottage. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing