We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple the best”
Review of The Forge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Forge
Ranked #53 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simple the best”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just home from an overnight stay at The Forge in Aislaby , what a pleasant surprise , we were greeted by the nicest young man ( told to forget his name) he carried our cases to the room ,
the room was enchanting , spotless with a lovely on suite, the food was delicious & the lime cheesecake is to die for , the staff couldn't have been nicer, Karl ( black socks) the bar man was a credit to the Forge, & Jill's attentiveness made the stay first class, if your visiting Whitby book this hotel on late rooms

Vanda & Pat
Ps sorry about the socks Karl !

Room Tip: The rooms are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Forge at Aislaby. The Forge is in a quiet little village which provides beautiful views of the Esk Valley whilst being 10 minutes from Whitby. The walking in this area is really good. The Forge is a fantasist place where you are greeted with genuine warmth and made to feel special. The rooms are furnished to an excellent standard. The food is fantastic. It is so popular that you have to book for an evening meal as they are full most nights. Nothing is too much trouble. Being a family owned business you are made to feel at home and relaxed. We will definitely be returning.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My boyfriend and I had a long weekend at the Forge and we were well looked after from our arrival to leaving 4 days later. The accomodation was luxurious and the food delicious! We will definitely return.

Room Tip: All the rooms have been recently refurbished and are superbly furnished and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yojojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

we were looking for a place close to Whitby and found The Forge.We stayed in the luxury suite which was brilliant.The staff were great and most helpfull the food was amazing,my wife suffers from coelica's disease Jill and Beth looked after her food needs without a complaint which was hard with her being a vegetarian as well.We would highley recomend The Forge to anyone it is simply ''The Best Ever''!!!by Adi Jones

Room Tip: ''try it you won't be sorry''
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Jo and Beth have it all sewn up! The Forge is a charming old building, overlooking fields and the sea in the distance. A peaceful and tranquil setting is topped by lovely rooms, excellent service and brilliant breakfasts! Everyone was friendly and nothing too much trouble. We stayed for three nights in the suite and this was just sooooo lovely! Everywhere was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable the sofa and arm chair were lovely to chill out on! Will see you next year Jo!

Room Tip: If the budget allows, pay extra for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olwyn e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Forge for three nights. A great location for Whitby and the North Yorkshire moors. The accommodation is first rate with clean and well decorated rooms. The food at breakfast and in the restaurant was excellent, Jill and her team friendly and welcoming, nothing too much trouble. We have stayed in many B&B's over the years but this is a gem.
Thanks to Jill and her team for such an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moira34WestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

A lovely setting in a quiet village just a short drive from Whitby, we only chose this place as we couldn't find anywhere in the centre of Whitby but this is now a firm favourite.....

The pub was recently renovated (in January 2013) and has just 6 rooms. This is evident in the upkeep of the place, immaculately finished, clean and with top quality furnishings.

A family run pub, it was evident that these guys really care about the guests and the village and were very friendly and helpful. In the pub, their was a decent selection of drinks and the menu looked very good, and although we didnt eat there, the breakfast was tasty, plentiful and freshly prepared.

Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: A taxi from here to the centre of Whitby takes about 10 minutes and cost £8 in June 2013.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DozyAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
127 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sanders Yard
Sanders Yard
#37 of 151 in Whitby
199 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 151 in Whitby
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cross Butts Hotel
Cross Butts Hotel
#64 of 151 in Whitby
333 reviews
2.3 mi away
The White House
The White House
#48 of 151 in Whitby
327 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge

Property: The Forge
Address: 22 Main Road | Aislaby, Whitby YO21 1SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Forge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing