We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little place”
Review of The Forge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Forge
Ranked #53 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great little place”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed overnight and shared the twin bedroom with a golfing colleague.The room was comfortable and clean , and quite sweet really. The evening meal ( I can particularly recommend the home made pie ),and breakfast were both very good as was the local beer on tap. With wonderful views all around, and friendly service it was a real find, and a great little place either for an overnight stay, or for use as a base for a few days to tour the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandM80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
67
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had an excellent meal (and enjoyed the quiz) so went back 2 nights later. My meal was excellent but my wife's salmon in a nut butter sauce was laced with honey and, for her, inedible. It made no mention of honey on the menu. She returned it and it was replaced minus the sauce which would have been fine but ... but the salmon was seriously overcooked. A friend of ours had also had a similar problem with undeclared mushrooms in a sauce.

This won't dissuade us from eating here again, and it shouldn't dissuade anyone else as it is a really good place to eat - far better than most in the area. The moral is, though, check what is in it when you order it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gb
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

But do not try to contact them by phone,as its a fax machine.Or by email as they don't answer.Jill is the owner,i booked with her.But i have been trying to contact them for the last 3 days.Its a beautiful place,with good food. But the customer service leaves a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: Luxury suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moggy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Forge makes our stay in Whitby! It has the best Pub Quiz on a Tuesday with THE nicest home made chunky chips for free and the best Carvery on a Sunday I've had anywhere in Whitby, so much meat and giant Yorkshire puddings!
The staff are really friendly and welcoming too, even to our noisy dog! The rooms are decorated to such a high standard and the whole place is always immaculate!

Its very refreshing as they are just an independent business, they don't seem to compete with other businesses but then again I don't think they have to! Seems very popular with the locals, who are just as chatty as the owners! The service is great and I just love the place! I cant say enough good things about it! My boyfriend and I are even enquiring about a engagement party here in the summer because it caters for all the family, look forward to my next visit :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tearewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this as a last minute break and were not disappointed. Set in an attractive village close to Whitby and all the local attractions. The warm welcome and friendly attentive staff made this a really pleasant stay. The rooms are of an exceptionally high standard that you would struggle to find in any five star hotel. The evening meal and breakfast were of a really high quality. A definite return break will be planned, a great short break thanks!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Philbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Gorgeous room with stunning views, a comfortable bed and an awesome full English breakfast. Staff were friendly and attentive. They happily supplied a cot for our 6 month old son. Only a short drive to Whitby. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyNoodles2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned back from a weekend break in Whitby. First time I've ever felt compelled to write a Trip Advisor review..but just had to say The Forge in Aislaby is absolutely Brilliant!

From the warm welcome, the lovely rooms, the fantastic food and the great service to the very welcome Full English Breakfast on the Sunday Morning everything about our trip was just perfect.

Have no hesitation in recommending the Forge to anybody and we are already looking for excuses to book our next trip.

Well done to Jill and her daughters!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NickChinery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.5 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#51 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
2.9 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#141 of 151 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#143 of 151 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge

Property: The Forge
Address: 22 Main Road | Aislaby, Whitby YO21 1SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Forge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing