We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly pub”
Review of The Dolphin

The Dolphin
Ranked #114 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly pub”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I visited this pub 3 times over the course of a weekend in Whitby. Friendly bar staff, nice decor with a good choice of drinks and snacks. A bit on the pricey side, but definately one of our favourite pubs in Whitby. We particuarly like the open fires, perfect for warming up after walking on the coast.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizBennett84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    62
    37
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good dinner in Whitby”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We went the day after Valentines Day and that whole weekend they were running a 3 course meal special (reasonably priced) and it was delicious. My favorite part had to be the chocolate raspberry tart for dessert. We found it to be family friendly with our two boys (ages 1&4), although we didn't bring in a buggy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kateeboyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice enough pub, bit tight on space”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This pub is nice enough. There was a sign saying they couldn't accommodate pushchairs - something to do with space so families beware. Only 2 staff serving at a busy period and we left before being served on first visit but was ok second time when it was quieter. Quite interesting building and was warm on a Feb night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spence19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

When we visit Whitby we like to go to the Dolphin for a drink.When possible we like to sit outside,as this is in a good location.The decor seems very dowdy inside ,but staff are friendly.We have had a few bar meals and they have all been nice and good value for money.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank debs_reynolds699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice pub for a meal”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were walking round whitby trying to find somewhere that did food that wouldnt cost us an arm and a leg and wasnt necessarily just fish and chips. Stumbled upon the dolphin which was lovely we found a table in a quiet area and it was lovely went up the the bar to order food and drink to be greeted warmly by the bar man with glasses on. He answered all our questions and had a conversation about beer glasses. Wasnt too keen on the bearded man that peered over our shoulder as we were ordering asking the bar man what table we were ordering for but that maybe how they deal with food orders. Returned to our table to find cuttlery there and the starters didnt take too long at all to arrive. They were lovely soon followed by the mains which were delivered by the bearded man. I had ordered extra gravy to come with my pie but was left a bit astounded when the bearded man just turned around and walked away as i asked for some ketchup. The meal was lovely though. The table next to us had a reserved sign which said reserved for musicians at 730. This table was quickly overrun by what im assuming were regulars, to which the bearded man didnt take too kindly and to be honest didnt handle the situation very well at all. We then went to pay for our meal to which we commended the bar man that had originally served us on the pubs choice in music (anything from a bit of metallica to david bowie). If I was to base my visit on the bearded gentleman i probably wouldnt return but the food the music the beer and the temperament of the bar man was its saving qualities.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran070405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dolphin also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing