We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came here a while ago and it was great!”
Review of The Dolphin

The Dolphin
Ranked #135 of 215 Restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
East Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We came here a while ago and it was great!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We came here a while ago and had a great time! For the money we paid for the room, it was great! The owners were fantastic and friendly.
We had a meal there and it was a decent price for what we had.
The room we stayed at was great and had great views to the water and bridge.
Will go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donnamarpla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    64
    39
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice drinks no too busy”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We visited 3 times over the weekend of 1st and the 2nd or August,
Very quick service at the bar always a nice welcome,Drinks very nice and chllied
Very nice to sit outside and watch the world go by,
Never any trouble,
keep up the good work and we will always go back cheers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second visit - never again!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Sunday was the second time we have visited The Dolphin, the previous time being about 12 months ago - two totally different experiences. The first time was great (hence the return), the second - very poor.
The bar staff were polite enough, the food was served relatively quickly, then it goes down hill.
My daughter had a steak pie, which looked OK, it was only when she started eating that she found a piece of plastic wire in it. My wife had a crab sandwich which was dry and the bread stale. Second daughter has fish n chips which weren't the best, my burger was OK.
Another pie was brought out, but any potential enjoyment had been spoilt by the foreign body found.
Staff were apologetic, but that was as far as it went until I complained further about our meals. We saw the duty manager who gave us a partial refund - unfortunately too little too late, we will not be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely staff but belligerent owner”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I took two close friends and their toddler here at the end of June and sat on the higher level behind the bar. We were served quickly and enjoyed most of the food although the sausages in my bangers and mash reminded of the things they used to serve at school in the early nineties.

We finished our meals and drinks and the mother of the child was applying sun cream to the toddler before we left when the owner came over and started having a go about the presence of the pram which had been at the table whilst staff brought meals and drinks to us. I told him we were about to leave so it was pointless telling us and that he would have seen this if he had paid any attention to the table (which had been cleared and 2 of the 3 adults were standing waiting to leave). It would appear from the bright red face of the man that he had been drinking and he started to shout at us and followed us down the stairs. It was an unfortunate incident which was entirely unnecessary and really spoilt the experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“rude landlord”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

don't go here for a drink unless you want an argument with the landlord. stood beyond the flower beds and where abruptly told to move by the landlord reason given was that the police would come and take away his license, all he had to do was be politely ask and instead he was very rude with no reason. the lanlord was ready to argue with us (group of females) we decided to leave our drinks and leave. even the security had to apologise for his rudeness. other customers said they experienced the sane thing, dont give your money to someone so rude and inpolite

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewcastleBoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dolphin also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing