We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great gluten free menu”

The Walrus And The Carpenter - 100% Gluten Free Eatery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Independant family run artisan barista house & specialist Gluten Free Eatery. We are whitby's 1st and only 100% dedicated GF premises providing experimental eats sweets & treats. Classically trained third wave baristas and weekly rotation of artisan coffee blends roasted and delivered fresh each week. Seasonal opening hours 11am - 5pm. Late night dinner events on occasion please see our Facebook page for announcements. Pet friendly, Free WIFI. Outdoor seating. Vegan and dairy free alternatives in regular stock or can be catered for. Prime location in Whitby's old town marketplace in 300 year old building of historic interest. Fire on in the winter. Friendly and relaxed atmosphere, all welcome.
Immingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great gluten free menu”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

the food was excellent and owners very helpful with my gluten intollerence. very pleasant surroundings.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    9
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic menu and very keenly priced a must for Gluten Free food”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

As I have a wheat intolerance I always struggle to find any restaurant or pubs that offer any good quality gluten free food. So on our trip to Whitby we had a browse on TripAdvisor to find somewhere to go The Walrus & The Carpenter came up on a search and having read the reviews some of which seem very Un fair....how can you give bad feedback for a place that is closed!! Go figure. Anyway we went in as we happened to be right outside when we searched for it so a Stoke of luck. This place is very well set out and lovely decor with a good scattering of different furniture which we love as we have a vintage furniture shop so was right up our street...When asking the girl at the counter what was gluten free she replied 'Everything' you can imagine our delight, on looking at the wide choice of hot and cold food and as in the title 'Very Keenly Priced' we set about choosing the ploughman's sandwich which came with a lovely side salad and kettle chips. It was really tasty and filling and we enjoyed it I emensly......We had a good chat to the owners who where really chatty and you can tell are very passionate about thier place which we agreed was a great idea and find. If only more places had offerings like this then we would enjoy eating out more.....We will definitely be back. :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lmq73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorks
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“weekend in whitby”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were a bit disappointed that the warlrus wasn't open on sat morning ,then we went past again about 1pm just by chance we were walking back to our B&B on a wet day . It was open so we went in for coffee and cake . we were welcomed by a nice young couple the place was empty I think it had just opend . coffee and cake was nice but it was little chilly as both doors were open not very cosy .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dixon961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Really nice coffee served in very pleasant surroundings. Surprisingly quiet though. Lovely selection of cakes a welcome treat give it a try

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful coffee and cakes. ”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My partner who isn't coeliac was blown away by how moist and tasty the cakes were. He always expects the food I eat to be missing something. I was thrilled to be spoilt for choice of both sweet and savoury food that I could eat without fear of being sick. Thankyou- it made my month.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmington72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Walrus And The Carpenter - 100% Gluten Free Eatery also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing