We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the company”

Middle Earth Tavern
Ranked #118 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Go for the company”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My sister and I stopped in here for a pint in the early afternoon but ended up staying for a couple hours. Only the bartender (Sandy, if I remember correctly) and 2 other locals were in at that time but we had great fun drinking, watching them play wii golf, and talking about travel, work, and Whitby itself. It was great to just chat with some good ol' boys instead of avoiding creepy drunk guys.
The pub itself is plastered with Alan Lee's artwork, a picture of Tolkien, a map of Middle Earth, and a bunch of cheeky drinking signs above the bar. I was happy to buy my souvenir "Sod it! I'm going to Middle Earth Tavern!" t-shirt and Sandy gave a Hobgoblin shirt to my sister because that's what we were drinking. We exchanged hugs when we left and were bummed it couldn't be our local.
Will be our first pub stop if we ever get back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent dog friendly pub”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Is just finishing a complete refurbishment after flooding in dec.. Lovely harbour side setting, good selection of ale. Really lovely friendly staff, made me and my dog feel extremely welcome. After having read some of the bad reviews on here was completely surprised at how different my experience was ! Nothing bad at all to say! Will be definitely going back again.

Helpful?
Thank Shadeofale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Never a good sign when real ale is served super chilled. Wouldn't bother going back again. There are far better pubs in Whitby with better atmospheres and better beers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Blessedcurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“How much?”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Thought that £6.50 was a bit steep for a pint of lager and a coke!!! Don't know if this was a mistake because even the barman looked confused but still charged that amount anyway...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a weekend”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you are ever in the Whitby area first weekend in July then search out the Middle Earth, great beer (when it's not sold out), fantastic staff who put up with grumpy old men who want real ale! good music and a nice place to meet friends old & new. Worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Middle Earth Tavern also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Middle Earth Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing