We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little Gem of a Cottage !”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

CarolD547
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Little Gem of a Cottage !”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed for a short break (Sat - Tues) which at this time of year is good to get. The cottage was immaculate and well equipped. Nice seating are out back and Margaret (Owner) was welcoming and informative. Would recommend to anyone !!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quaintness of it
Liked least: Nothing, but perhaps location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineW...
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a wonderful location; what a find!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Lovely cottage; had everything we needed and then some! The games cupboard is something to marvel at! Loved the personal touches around the house such as homemade sewing and drawings by the owner. Perfect location for what we wanted to do and lots of helpful info given at the cottage. We would definitely stay again if returning to the area. The kitchen came with all utensils you could need and the whole cottage was perfectly clean and maintained throughout.

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_kriek
Ermelo, The Netherlands
1 review
“Cosy and comfortable cottage.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

A charming, characterful cottage, reasonably priced, complete with all mod.cons, situated in a quiet village on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors. A real home from home with lots of books, magazines and games Plenty of things to see and do in the surrounding area in off-season. We were with four adults but this cottage is also suitable for families with children. We would definitely return for another visit.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the character and quality of the cottage
Liked least: nothing to mention
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maries792
suffolk uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location,welcoming stay”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in December 2013

A warm welcome awaited us on arrival. Very clean attractive cottage, wonderful days out walking and dining within beautiful landscapes. Our return to Honeysuckle cottage after a days exploration, the kettle was clicked on and the log burner was ignited. A real gem 5*

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: homely feel & cleanliness
Liked least: nothing springs to mind!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy P
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful, well equipped and comfortable character cottage in lovely quiet countryside village”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
5
people found this review helpful

I stayed with my husband and 2 children for a short break in Honeysuckle cottage. It's a lovely old property full of character (lovely fireplace with logs provided), tastefully decorated and with a nice modern kitchen and bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean and rooms were equipped with everything we needed. We had a warm welcome from the owner and the kids enjoyed the treasure hunt (and the thoughtful prizes!). The garden was lovely and the outside decking area gets the sun on a nice evening. The neighbours were friendly too. The village was quiet and pretty with a nice walk and a good playground. It was an easy drive to Whitby, although we preferred to visit the other smaller coastal places like Saltburn, Runswick Bay and Staithes, nice beaches and less busy. Also near to some lovely countryside in the North York Moors. It is very 'cosy' inside the cottage but we were going to camp in a tent and I'm really glad we didn't. I would definitely recommend this cottage for couples or families with two young children looking for a peaceful and pretty getaway.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful pretty location near to countryside and sea
Liked least: daylight flooding into the kids bedroom at the crack of dawn woke them up too early (the curtains didn't hold back the light very much)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.