We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal accomodation for an early autumn break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abbey View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance Living Area with kitchen in the background
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Entrance
Living Area with kitchen in the background
Kitchen
Bathroom
Twin Bedroom
King Size bedroom
King Size Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BagLadyBi...
Doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal accomodation for an early autumn break”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We loved the quaintness of the cottage, the proximity to the town centre was ideal. We were so lucky with the weather I do not think it could have been any better for the time of year.
It did get a little cold at night and we couldn't figure out the central heating nor find the radiators that were supposedly in the cupboard under the stairs as mentioned in the information booklet, luckily we found lots of cosy blankets.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location - didn't use the car for the whole time we stayed
Liked least: Quick showers due to poor drainage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaJ...
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Although we only live an hour or so away from Whitby, arriving to the beautiful Abbey View cottage made us feel completely away from it all! Not only was the cottage clean and tidy, it had bundles of character and was very stylishly finished. Just not too easy to reach by car. Would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uncleagen...
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage - we'll book it again.”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable all round, well equipped and very handy for the shops. We really appreciated having hooks on the bathroom door and shelves and a storage unit in the bathroom, things that are so often not thought of in holiday cottages. We found the beds very comfortable, and our daughter and son-in-law said the sofa bed was fine too. It was very useful having a key safe so no need for complicated arrangements as to who would be having the key - vital when 6 people are staying! We also much appreciated the pint of milk and packet of biscuits left for us when we arrived, along with some sachets of tea, coffee and sugar - very thoughtful. The owner is extremely helpful if you need to contact her by email. The only snag we found was inadequate light for reading in the living room, which could be a nuisance if you were in during the evening or staying in the winter months. And the rather worn flight of stone steps giving access to the cottage could make it unsuitable for anyone with mobility problems, although there is a firm rail to hold on to. But otherwise we couldn't fault it and will definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfirtable, convenient and good value.
Liked least: Needs a good reading light in the living room.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
I really appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review. Thank you so much.Hope to hear from you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amyinbath
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Great little cottage that was close to the centre of Town but also slightly tucked away. Comfortable and well presented it is very cosy. Easy to find thanks to the clear directions and suited us for our 3 night stay in Whitby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon s
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely homely cottage”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

had 3 days in this cottage did not want to come home it has everything you need and
just a short walk in to town to all the local amenities will be returning next year many thanks
for a lovely stay
sharon and garry

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: was very homely
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyB364
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This really is a little gem of a place, only a stones throw away from the centre but really quiet and peaceful.We found the cottage easily thanks to the detailed directions e-mailed to us after booking. The cottage is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, and the welcome pack was a lovely touch. Would definitely recommend to anybody.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clorley
1 review
“5 star accommodation”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Had a great short break in Whitby. Abbey View was beautifully decorated, homely, modern and very clean. It provided everything we needed (except a parking space which was a shame but parked on a nearby road 5 minuits away so wasn't too bad). Sharon responded to emails promptly and was very helpful. The whole booking process was quick and straight forward. I would definitely reccomend this cottage to friends and family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing