We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent customer service!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abbey View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance Living Area with kitchen in the background
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Entrance
Living Area with kitchen in the background
Kitchen
Bathroom
Twin Bedroom
King Size bedroom
King Size Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service!!”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The owner honestly informed us that the wifi wasn't working and offered us a full refund if we decided not to stay at the cottage. Unfortunately I needed the wifi for work. The full amount was paid into my bank ac immediately....I was very impressed with her honesty. We will definitely return soon. Excellent customer service is what makes you want to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullschic...
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in August 2016

It is a lovely cosy cottage, beautifully decorated and has everything you could need but probably not a good idea if you have a pushchair or difficulty with steps

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
Thank you for the great review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write a review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
juneclark...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“excellent, a pretty little cottage, cosy, comfortable, clean, clost to Whitby centre.”
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Everything catered for in Abbey View, decorated too high standard, very clean, very comfortable, very cosy. Lashings of hot water, heating if needed.Books, DVD, information leaflets. Wanted for nothing in this cosy nook. Will visit again, many thanks to the owner Sharon. A nice gesture of milk and biscuits on arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2016
Thank you for a great review.

We do hope you will come to stay with us again.

Best Regards.

Coastal Holidays Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northernr...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Booked the cottage for a four day break and was not disappointed. Ideally situated off the main road leading into the centre of the town, the cottage was perfect for the two of us in a quiet courtyard with a perfect upstairs view of the Abbey. A welcome pack of milk and biscuits were a bonus and the instructions left regarding the Wi-Fi, television, heating and parking made this a perfect location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The central location of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dazzlegir...
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Warm cottage in the heart of Whitby ”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We've just returned from a stay in this lovely cottage. The cottage is tucked away and not on the main road. It has character, yet is modern and fully central heated and cosy! This is a must for me :-)

3 minutes walk away from Whitby Station and the harbour. Those with mobility issues may struggle up the few steps to the cottage. We found parking easily near by. It was perfect for us ( with a 10 and 8 year old) .

We were impressed by the communication from the owner and feel she really understands the needs of her guests.

2 delicious takeaways nearby - Royal fisheries and Ming Palace Chinese.
Also very near to a co-op and we had a cheeky weatherspoons breakfast at The Angel (go upstairs so you can have a harbour view).

No problems during our stay and we managed to relax and see Whitby, Robin Hood's Bay, Pickering, Scarborough and Eden Camp. We would really recommend this cottage and hope to come back very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan R
1 review
“Gem”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

What a beautiful property. Very clean with modern facilities. Quiet and peaceful, just like home from home. Ideally placed for the town on a short level walk. The milk in the fridge on arrival was a very welcome addition after a long journey. The view of the abbey was really good we have managed some great pictures of the abbey from the windows. I have already passed the details onto 3 different friends, I dont usually do that but this is the exception as I am sure standards remain 5* always.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and also for passing on the details. Much appreciated :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing