We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage and location”
other travellers have booked this property
Celebration Cottage,  13, Cliff Street.  YO21 3DD
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Celebration Cottage,  13, Cliff Street.  YO21 3DD
The living room with comfortable sofas, tv and log burning stove Comfortable sofa in beamed living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Celebration Cottage,  13, Cliff Street.  YO21 3DD
The living room with comfortable sofas, tv and log burning stove
Comfortable sofa in beamed living room
Wood burning stove for those chilly nights.... Nice and snug
The Utility area of the kitchen with clothes and dishwasher
Cooking area with hob, oven and microwave...
The dining area ...
The half landing window
The main bedroom
The main bedroom
The rear double room
The en-suite  includes wc, wash hand basin and walk in electric shower
The family bathroom with WC, hand wash basin, bath with shower over
The comfortable single room . Includes hand pull out bed
Two single beds in the top floor
The top floor bedroom
Fine views of the Abbey and the Abbey steps from here
Celebration Cottage, 13. Cliff Street  ,
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent cottage and location”
Reviewed 4 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We regularly take winter breaks in Whitby and have stayed in many cottages, this is one of the best. All the usual stuff you expect plus, a good location, great view of the abbey, and a very nice log burner.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2018
Hi There thanks for the positive comments. I really appreciate them. Thanks for taking the time. Thank you also for taking your winter break in Celebration Cottage..
Please stay again,

best wishes John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick G
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really great cottage ”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Spent the weekend, perfect location for walking anywhere in Whitby! Fantastic cottage, really quaint with lots of period charm and features. The place is a really good size inside with all mod cons and pet friendly, 6 of us stayed and a dog we had a great time, i can highly recommend it and theres parking directly over the road too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
We are so glad you liked our cottage. Thanks very much for staying. Thanks for the positive review. We hope you stay again.
Best wishes. John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Cottage, Lovely location”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed in April 2017 as a group of 8. This is a lovely well maintained cottage in the heart of Whitby. Loved the layout, modern but with lots of quirky original features. always felt quiet despite the town being very busy. Everything in Whitby was in easy reach by foot.
A parking scratchcard was also kindly included by the owner. Perhaps the only downside is that Whitby council could do with clarifying their parking restriction signs as it was hard to work out exactly where you could and couldnt park with the scratchcard. That said that is a criticism of the council rather that the property. If you struggle to find a space there is also a pay carpark directly opposite the property which always seemed to have spaces and was free between 1800- 0900 which was ideal.
For an evenings entertainment we would recommend the ghost walk from the whalebones. Dr Crank is a very interesting and very funny gentleman.
So in summary one of the best places we have ever stayed in Whitby and we would definitley use the property again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
Alistair thank you so much for your review. I am glad you like Celebration Cottage. I look forward to welcoming you again. Dr Crank is wonderful by the way !! best wishes John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Thanks for your review. Will get the feather duster out. !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shirly180...
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I will be back”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What an amazing cottage!!!! We arrived after a long journey (6 hours - very long when you have a 6 year old and a puppy) arrived to tea milk and biscuits - good call. Rooms were clean and well equiped. Stairs were a bit steep but even my very fit 80 year old mother coped.

Although the weather wasn't great we managed to get out every day and explore.

We went twice to the Tourist information and twice we were met with sneering bored staff who could not be bothered to help us out at all - in the end we had to interrupt the cottage owners holiday to get help - he replied quickly and was absolutely wonderful - sorry we interrupted your holiday - but you were wonderful.

Apart from the tourist information peple everyone else we met were wonderful and helpful and the cleaner is one in a million if you have any problems.

As you can tell everything was wonderful and we will return soon.

Thanks John and Shelia for the touches that make it so special - good job. xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to town etc
Liked least: Parking - beware the confusing parking rules
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
hi linda. Thanks for the positive review. We are very pleased you like our cottage. Sorry about problems with parking but I was very happy to help. We hope you come again and maybe get some sunshine next time. Best wishes. John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ange2608
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Second time we have stayed here. Cannot recommend this place highly enough. Perfect location. Clean. Beautiful decor. Communication with the owner is second to none. Would never stay anywhere else in Whitby. Thanks for everything John ☺️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thanks Angela for the kind words. We do try hard to maintain to a high standard. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for staying. Best wishes. John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S
Sheff
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a fantastic weekend in Whitby for my birthday with my girlfriend and baby boy! The Celebration Cottage was perfect for what we wanted, a base in the day and somewhere to relax and get cosy at night. The location couldn't be any better with an amazing view up to the Abby and only a 2 minute walk to everything. The view from the top bedroom of the Abby at night when it is lit up is stunning. Would definitely recommend to anybody. Already booked to go back in March!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2016
Hello Tom.. so pleased you like our cottage.. thanks for your review...

best wishes John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing