We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argyle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Argyle House
Ranked #69 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Just left Argyle House after our second visit and already booked a third! Mel and Bill are lovely hosts, very accommodating and after looking round all the rooms, I could recommend them all! We have stayed in the luxury suite and the attic room. Both lovely, nice and cosy.

The breakfasts are amazing! My partner had the kippers and really enjoyed them. The full English is lovely and all great quality produce used.

Location of the B&B is excellent and only a five minute walk into town. Ideally situated for walks along the coast or more inland. Bill even lent us his map this time as we left ours at home.

I can't recommend this place enough. We will be back!

Room Tip: I have looked around them all! All are great. We like the attic rooms as cosy and lots of space. Lux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    28
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
98
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We arrived late on the 17 th march and had a very warm welcome, we had an attic room which was very big, warm and comfortable. The bathroom was very small but the bed was lovely. We left very early so could not stay for breakfast but was offered fruit and snacks for the journey

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I have just returned from a short break in Whitby.
Myself and my friend have stayed in many B and Bs over the years and we agreed that this was by far the best one! We arrived very late at night (we did warn the owners of this) and were told that it wasn't a problem, when we arrived in our room it was lovely, warm and cosy- a nice touch considering we had just travelled 300 miles in rain and fog!
Our first breakfast was delicious... As were the following 5!
During the stay we enjoyed lovely chats with our hosts over breakfast, they recommended several places to visit which we thoroughly enjoyed. They really couldn't do enough for us, making sure we had enough to eat and kept the teapot full!
Our room was cleaned daily, the bed was comfortable and the towels and bed sheets smelt fresh the whole time.
We enjoyed it so much that we booked another stay for later in the year as soon as we got back home!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

This was our first experience of this guest house and it will be the first of many. The room was spacious and VERY clean everything we needed extra blankets and DVDs for the DVD player. We had a view of the ocean. The food is sourced locally and you can tell the difference and cater for vegetarians on the last morning I had boiled eggs and soldiers and Bill even cut them up for me made my morning. Both Bill and Mel are great hosts they seem to want to keep feeding you at breakfast they can't do enough to help. Bill has such a knowledge of the real ale drinking pubs and as this was a surprise for my husband he supplied a few real ale bottles in the room. This B&B should be number one; the breakfast are superb, the bedrooms and en-suites are fantastic, the hosts are friends you have not seen for a while and its not everyday you get to meet Little Spiderman. (I work in a hotel and this B&B are above hotel standards)

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

What a refreshing change to have experienced such welcoming and warm hospitality,the breakfast was amazing with such fresh produce ,the full English sets you up for the day.we certainly will return,thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Welcoming and comfy b and b, some rooms with memory foam mattresses. It is nicely situated not far from the shops and bars and free parking on the street. Would recommend a stay here. Delicious breakfasts

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Me and my mate stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate New Years Eve. We checked in on the sat and was welcomed with fresh coffee and homemade chocolate cookies. We had the attic room which had a double and a single bed and small but sufficient ensuite bathroom. They have a special breakfast every day such as kippers and poached eggs, or pancakes otherwise you can order from the menu which is very varied. From full english to scrambled eggs on toast. It is nicely situated not far from the shops and bars and free parking on the street. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy_Bags1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#50 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Pathway Guest House
The Pathway Guest House
#62 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
5.6 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#145 of 152 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#3 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle House

Property: Argyle House
Address: 18 Hudson Street | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Argyle House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality double en-suite rooms, large Smart TV with access to NETFLIX and latest movie bank, fast internet connection all free for your in room entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Argyle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing