We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Garden Court

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shaun704
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First the positives, the location was ideal, a stones throw from the sea front and just a short walk away from the town centre. The owner sent out detailed instructions about the rental and the parking restrictions in Whitby, that proved helpful. She left tea, coffee, milk, sugar and some gorgeous biscuits for our arrival, and it was very clean and well furnished. Now for the negatives, the pictures show grey wallpaper in the living room, this has been stripped to leave a grey poorly painted wall full of damp patches, covered by a large mirror in an attempt to hide them, there is a constant buzzing from a dehumidifier that is running constantly (I wanted to turn it off but out of respect for the owner I left it on), the bed is rated as extremely comfortable in some reviews, I think they are confusing comfort, with worn out, but the bed linen is lovely. My wife has thick long hair, and found that the shower didn't have anywhere near enough pressure to really wash it, its wasn't brilliant by any means, the weather turned poor on one evening, so we decided to have a night in with a bottle of wine in front of the TV, I believe the free-view box is actually steam driven, it took that long to warm up, and there was no remote control for the DVD player, the whole system could do with modernising (admittedly you don't go on holiday for TV), but modern TVs with free-view built in are not expensive, however, overall they say you get what you pay for, and the weekend wasn't expensive, if the owner could right a few of the minor details, I would genuinely consider staying at Garden Court again. I would recommended this rental with reservation, if you can live with the cons, the pros are worth the money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: the damp and dehumidifier
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Garden Court. Everybody has different expectations and standards and personal opinions, but as you can see the majority of my guests are very happy with the property.
The balcony above the living room window leaked and water came through my living room wall(This was totally out of my control). Therefore I had to remove the wallpaper. Once it had dried out enough it was painted but this is only a temporary measure until the wall has dried out fully and can be re wall papered.
As mentioned in the Welcome Folder in the apartment, ventilation can be a huge problem in older properties hence the dehumidifier. It also states that I am aware that it can be noisy so you are not to hesitate in switching it off.
If you had contacted me during your stay or even mentioned your points to me when I rang you I would have responded immediately.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HF_muso
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home.”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Perfectly appointed base in a central location from which to explore Whitby. Cosy, spotlessly clean, plenty of utensils, cutlery, pans, plates etc; feels like a newly renovated toilet/shower room, and the rest of it is decorated tastefully! Even though the place is small, it never felt cramped. Super-speedy wi-fi! We're vegan, and Sharan left us a delicious fruit bowl without prompting (I'd seen she often leaves biscuits and milk for other guests and didn't want her to waste money on us). Communication with Sharan was great, all the information we needed was via email and in the welcome pack. If we're ever staying in Whitby again we'll probably book here again :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your review. It is great for other 'potential' guests to read. Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STEVE A
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“REALLY NICE”
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for ten days in January with my wife.
It was everything that previous reviews had led us to expect, smart, stylish, comfortable and relaxing
First impressions very good, very clean and tidy. Nice to have some tea, coffee and milk available
The flat is very warm (hot?) but that was welcome given the cold temperatures outside.
The bedroom is bijou and compact but the bed comfortable with nice clean bed linen.
We like to cook but this was a bit of a challenge given that the markings on the knobs for the oven were rendered illegible due to zealous cleaning!
Situation is perfect, close to the harbour, restaurants and shops, yet far enough off the beaten track to be quiet.
All in all a very good experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor
Liked least: The oven
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sambo90
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Fantastic place to stay, close to town centre, nicely furnished and decorated - a home from home kind of place, would definitely book again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druidsgar...
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great little cottage, brilliant location”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Garden Court whilst visiting for the Bram Stoker International Film Festival, perfect location near to the Spa, comfortable, absolutely immaculate.

Definitely be staying again in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It was just lovely and cosy and a perfect hideaway
Liked least: Spiral staircase & luggage combo but thats very very minor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie L
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A comfortable and well equipped apartment in an excellent location”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Extremely comfortable and everything we needed for our 4 night stay.
The apartment was beautifully presented and spotlessly clean.
Excellent location being just a short walk from the town but nice and quiet on an evening.
I would recommend Garden Court without hesitation and would definitely stay here again - we loved it..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longy331
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“a perect retreat for couples”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Garden Court was a lovely cosy apartment well located for all the attractions Whitby has to offer.The apartment was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean.There were new parking regulations which we found to be slightly confusing.Scratch cards have been introduced but we were provided with one that covered the length of our stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing