We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bagdale Lodge”
Review of Bagdale Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed at the Lodge part of this hotel and found the room spotless with a newly refurbished ensuite shower room. Breakfast was a good selection, freshly cooked and piping hot. This is the only Hotel we could find in the centre of Whitby which has adequate free parking. The only downside of this place was the noisy seagulls during the night but it is the seaside after all.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

The building is very impressive with lots of character.
The staff were very friendly.
The room we had was in the annex, a lovely spacious 4 poster room. It was very characterful and the furniture was in keeping with the history of the building. The bathroom was excellent, both with a bath and shower. It was spotless throughout.
The bed was very comfy.
It was also very quiet, and we had a room onto the main road.
It was only the TV that let the room down as that too was very old fashioned.
Breakfast was nice though there wasn't much choice for this type of hotel.

Location wise - perfect with exploring Whitby and the free car park was a great asset.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chezwylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Went here for a meal last night. We hadnt booked but the staff found us a table and are we pleased they did !
Our food was wonderful. I'm very fussy with my food but i can say that i would visit here any time for meals as it was so good. Well worth a visit. Try the garlic butter!! wow!
The waiting staff where very pleasant indeed and we would reccommend.the place highley.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colwellian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We dined here on Tuesday 22nd May, the service and food were fantastic, so surprised the restaurant was not busier.
When we first walked past our initial thoughts due to the graduer of the building was the restaurant would be extremely expensive, but we ventured around the side and viewed the menu, very reasonable prices, in line with the cafe/restaurants in Whitby.
The young man serving was so pleasant and attentive, he managed to serve everyone in the restaurant on his own with no delay between courses.
We could not fault anything, the steak pie was divine, very good wine choice and again, very reasonable prices.
Our only suggestion would be to put a menu board at the front, to show how reasonable it is to dine here,
Will definately return when we are next staying in Whitby.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Have visited the hotel in Whitby 3 times in the last 2 years. It is a beautiful hotel with a lovely friendly staff. We have only stayed for the 2 for 1 nights from November to March and we have enjoyed every holiday. 5 minutes from the front and parking at the rear for our car. The rooms are very comfortable and decorated to a high standard with period features such as the four poster beds and fireplaces. The Bagdale breakfast is enough to last you until your evening meal with the four courses. Both my husband and I can only manage a small Bagdale cooked breakfast not a big one there is so much on the plate. It is a great place for a short break in a great place, we will be returning later this year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyBagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

On arrival we were both suprised at the size and quality of the rooms and the friendlyness of the staff.We stayed for 3 nights and ate out at night, only because we like to explore the surroundings.The breakfast was good but on one morning there was along wait due to some problem in the kitchen.The hotel is ideally placed(near the train and bus station)and only a 5minute walk to the centre.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulusmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights from the 15th May 2012 and were residing in Room 2. The Hotel was easy to find and it is a place of history. We arrived rather early but were still given our room, which we had not expected. The first experience of the Staff here was exceptional and this then continued throughout the whole of our stay. Friendly, pleasant and helpful making our stay very relaxing.
Our Room, marvellous. Very large with all the facilities you would expect from what we had booked. What added to it's overwhelming charm was the history of the place which had not been detracted from by the owners. You cannot help but fall for the Hall's charms.
Breakfast was also very good here, a very good selection and all served piping hot and very well cooked.
We also ate in the Restuarant on the first night. If you do stay here, then this is a must and reccommended. The meals were just fantastic and the Chef clearly knows their stuff.
If you love historic hotels, then this will not dissapoint. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRetiredTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
906 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 19 in Whitby
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagdale Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagdale Hall Hotel

Address: 1 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £99 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bagdale Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bagdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagdale Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing