We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and very friendly and welcoming staff.”
Review of Bagdale Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location and very friendly and welcoming staff.”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I wanted a night away in a hotel that was value for money and in a good location. That is exactly what we got. Our room in the lodge was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the service was great. I would definitely go again but try the Hall next time. I'm going to recommend my parents stay there too. Absolutely lovely stay thankyou to all the staff especially the manager for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoWakeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Nice to see you got value for your money in the Lodge. Looks like the staff looked after you and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the Bagdale Hall part. Please feel free to join our mailing list on our website and take advantage of our great offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    166
    57
    26
    28
See reviews for
54
423
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Bagdale Hall in the Lodge. (Room 24) found the hotel really easily and the location really is good. Very close to the harbour and all the attractions.
The lodge was very nice but we found the room to be a little bit lacking in character. The lodge is located very close to the rear entrance of whitby hospital, thus we had people walking directly past the hotel window pretty much constantly. The walls in the lodge appear to be wafer thin, maybe it is just room 24 but we could hear everything that was going on in the room next door. We stayed for breakfast which was very nice. On the plus side the room was very clean and warm. I found the overall stay OK but it was far too expensive (£90 for 1 night) if we were to stay again i think i would stay in the main Hall.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ChloeLam19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you think the Lodge is over-priced but if you include breakfast, car parking, wifi, hotel location and facilities you will find our prices are very competitive. Maybe if you had come mid-week on the two nights for the price of one offer you would of been happy with the price. Please come again and stay in the main hotel. We take note of all your comments. Feel free to join our mailing list on our website and keep an eye out for our special winter offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel and reception and staff, excellent. We were staying in the Lodge, but it was not clear at first where this was. I think the Lodge is a little expensive for a double plus breakfast. i think the hotel part is worth it, but the Lodge???. Room was very clean and adequate. Probably picked the worse weather to visit Whiteby. Breakfast was excellent, bit too much choicer sor we kept changing our minds, but in the end, we went for the full English. Very quick and efficient service. Apart from the price, I had no problems with this visit.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, try and stay in the Hotel rather than the Lodge or Annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patty d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. You will have to revisit us in the summer hopefully for the nice weather. The Bagdale Hall Hotel does have the nicer room and is worth the extra money. Please feel free to join our mailing list on our website and take advantage of our great offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Visited Whitby early December and booked in at the Bagdale for 2 nights stayed in room 2 which was a beautiful room. All staff were fantastically helpful and very pleasant. Whitby was a lovely location for our short break and the Bagdale was more than the icing on the cake for our trip. Would definately recommend and would stay again without hesitation. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matobeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Great to hear you had a wonderful stay and the staff looked after you. Room 2 certainly is a fantastic room and admired by many. Please feel free to join our mailing list on our website and take advantage of our great offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

What a great 7 course meal served on Christmas Day.
Pleasant surroundings and good company.
Food well cooked and presented.
Staff could not have been better.
All our needs were catered for, even down to the personlised Christmas Card waiting for us.
Not the cheapest in Whitby but having seen others why settle for 2nd or 3rd best when for a little extra you can have 4/5 star .
Would recomend and go again.

Room Tip: Did not stay as we stayed at a self catering cottage and was a treat for Christmas Day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN SUE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your review. So pleased you had a fabulous Christmas lunch and we looked after you as expected. We try our best to make sure our service is 1st class and looks like we succeeded. Hope to see you 2014. Please feel free to join our mailing list on our website and take advantage of our great offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Amazing place, peaceful, beautiful and historic. Dark wood beams winding staircases and an amazing restaurant with wonderful food, service and politeness. Would stay again any time, anytime anyone wanted to treat me. Pricey but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Rooms are amazing in the main hall and the annexe's
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Looks like you took in the whole atmosphere and surroundings of the hotel. We are not always expensive so keep an eye out for winter offers. Hope to see you 2014. Please feel free to join our mailing list on our website and take advantage of our great offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

This fabulous hotel saved our almost ruined 6th wedding anniversary following an awful experience at another hotel/doss house on the seafront - we pitched up with no booking and were shown several rooms of differing standards (all lovely) and picked room 15 in the annexe with a fabulous four poster bed - I can honestly say I have never slept so well the bed was sooo comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with an adequate selection of cold items and a freshly cooked hot breakfast with excellent bacon sausages and black pudding - this set us up for a lovely days walking exploring whitby, goathland staithes and robin hoods bay. We returned cold and wet for a drink in the warm cosy bar - and a good soak in the HUGE bath in our room - we had a truly memorable stay and will definitely be back !!! This hotel offers genuine luxury at affordable prices it is within easy walking distance of town and is run by polite professionals loved it - if there were six stars available I would give them

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Bagdale Hall to the rescue, so glad your anniversary was not ruined and we made your weekend. We look forward to you bringing us our 6 star sign. Hope to see you 2014. Please feel free to join our mailing list on our website and take advantage of our great offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagdale Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagdale Hall Hotel

Property: Bagdale Hall Hotel
Address: 1 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Whitby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bagdale Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bagdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagdale Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing