We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable!!”
Review of Bagdale Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely old building in a good location!! We stayed Overnight in a family room, it was a good size, clean and comfortable! I'm the morning we were served a nice full English breakfast, with good service!!
Well recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevenforsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the lodge as opposed to the hotel. I had booked online and there was no explanation of the difference between the hotel and the lodge. The room at the lodge was very basic given the price of £105 for the night. The location was convenient for the town (one of the reasons for the choice) and had its own parking. I'm sure that there are better B&Bs for the price.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

The first thing I need to point out is the Bagdale Hall Hotel is only available to book via telephone. The Bagdale Lodge you booked online is called the Bagdale Lodge so how you didn’t know what you booked is beyond me. The Lodge is clearly stated online of what you get. We do have a great location and car parking is a big bonus for us. We are not a B&B, we are a hotel with a fully licensed bar and restaurant. I would read more carefully what you are booking so you don’t get any confusion next time. Any way come back and try the hotel or look out for our winter offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Couple and friend stayed in the lodge at the back of the hall in a family room. Quiet, ground floor room, clean and tidy with large bathroom and on site parking. Breakfast was good and staff friendly. Walk to town and harbour.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice And Max K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Great review and thank you. Can see you appreciated everything the lodge and hotel offers. Don’t leave it long before you come again and keep a look out for our winter offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at Bagdale Lodge, part of Bagdale Hall Whitby, would recommend, room good and very clean, everything you need for base when visiting Whitby, 2 mins walk to station and town centre with lots to see and do. Free parking a bonus. Breakfast very good, especially the scrambled eggs, would return anytime, special mention to Pat, very friendly. Carry on the good work. Give it a go.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room at the lodge, very good value for money, spotless .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjccoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Again a great review and thank you. We like to think we are a lovely place to stay and the stay make you feel like you’re at home. Bagdale keeps it reputation for a good breakfast and Pat says thank you for her special mention. Come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I booked this via LateRooms which offered me a choice between a standard room or a classic room (a little more expensive) but apparently all rooms in the Lodge are the same quality.

The staff were excellent, they were friendly, welcoming and helpful.
The rooms were clean (with the notable exception of the top of the wardrobe, which covered my bag in thick dust!)

The rooms were clean but very basic - less sophisticated than a Travelodge. The tea tray offered instant coffee and tea - no real coffee and no herbal teas.
The continuous noise of the seagulls meant that sleeping with the window open was impossible, closing the single glazed windows made very little difference to the noise levels. There was no air conditioning, so sleeping with the windows closed was uncomfortable. We were provided with a fan when we requested one.

The restaurant offered good breakfast and lovely evening meals (Monday to Saturday only) My request for black pepper was met with a confusion as though I had just asked for hen's teeth. I was informed that they did not have any - despite having had some at breakfast.

After dinner, it was not possible to have either decaffeinated coffee or herbal tea.

The Central location was very convenient, everything in Whitby was within easy reach and there was no difficulty parking.

I wish to reiterate that the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. This would have been great value at £70 per night

Room Tip: Apparently bookings made by third party sites like Laterooms, booking.com etc are all in the lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KENNETH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Please read what you are booking before booking. It clearly states Bagdale Lodge (Bagdale Hall Hotel is not mentioned for online booking, only our annex’s). We do have great staff that will always try to help. Unfortunately the seagulls are out of our control and there is nothing we can do about their noise. We now have a new chef and his food is excellent and we are pushing the restaurant now to get back our reputation we have lost. Our prices are based on our location, facilities and excellence. Central hotel, free wifi, parking, excellent food and staff makes the £120 for the lodge a bargain. Hopefully you will come again and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed in the lodge, adjacent to the main hall for 3 nights. Parking was really good and the hotel easy to find however, the local seagull population were not that thoughtful which resulted in me buying a cleaning cloth!! My general feeling is that the hotel had all of the ingredients of being a wonderful place, but felt that it was lacking in the extra detail and finesse.
The shower hose over the bath leaked, primarily because it was too short and being stressed, the furniture in the room left a lot to be desired and there was a dark mark on the carpet leading to the bathroom. Our room was too warm, through no fault of the hotel - I think the building just retained the heat.
Location perfect and did not think traffic affected us in any way although right on the main road.

Room Tip: Try the main hall however, there is a premium to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Seagulls, if only they were quiet. Something we have no control over. Bit of a mixed review but i’m sure if you try out the Bagdale Hall Hotel rooms you would be coming back week after week. Please try us again and will ask the seagulls to keep the noise down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed in bagdale hall 20+ years ago and it was fabulous. I have always wanted to return and this weekend I did just that. Sits so quaintly in the town and is central so the heart of the town is a few minutes walk away. Plus the hotel has parking which is quite rare for Whitby. The hotel is a Phenomenal building. We had a double room. Not much of a view but we were in the Tudor house and I just loved it. We decided to stay for dinner and it was just delightful. Soup starter was homemade and delicious. Sirloin steak with a tomato and onion type of ratatouille -wow. Chips. O my. They were so good that they should be illegal! Would I like a complimentary bottle of house wine. O yes please. Rose Pinot Grigio -very nice. We couldn't manage a pud. We just heaved ourselves off to bed!! Lovely comfy bed with nice cotton bedding. Great breakfast I had mushroom omelette but the full English was excellent too. Absolutely nothing to grumble about. Thank you bag dale for a wonderful visit !

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariahyndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Please don’t leave it 20 years until your next visit. So glad you returned and everything was wonderful. New chef is fantastic and we will be full all the time if word keeps spreading. Bagdale Hall is somewhere where you can relax and enjoy yourself. Hopefully see you soon and not 20 years time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,161 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
893 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 19 in Whitby
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagdale Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagdale Hall Hotel

Address: 1 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £115 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bagdale Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bagdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagdale Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing