We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Bagdale Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked here for a night to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. We were met by a pleasant young lady who checked us in with ease. We stayed in no 4 annex, the room was beautiful and spacious with a lovely ensuite. Yes you can hear the seagulls but it is the seaside they do stop squawking sometimes! Breakfast was served in the restaurant in the main hotel we did have a little wait from ordering to eating but the food was excellent as was the service. A lovely place to stay and with the added bonus of a carpark. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
There are newer reviews for Bagdale Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

What an amazing place to stay only stayed one night for my birthday. Staff are friendly and helpful, we stayed in room 3 of the main hall and it was absolutely stunning, a perfect nights sleep and very clean. Breakfast was lovely, well presented and well cooked. Will definitely be going to stay again for more than just a night and would recommend this place to stay to family and friends. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kloe-newbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Lovely old building with nice dining room, the bar more like a small neglected pub. Booked two best rooms a month in advance. When we arrived our rooms had been given away and we got two tiny rooms with small double beds in the so called lodge, if we'd had a cat there would not have been room to swing it. No sleep. Seagulls very noisy. Breakfast ok but trip spoiled.

Room Tip: Must be room in original building
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank capogatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in a suite and 4 poster overlooking the main road. We slept very well as the bed was so comfortable and as windows are double glazed traffic was not a problem , two bottles of water are with the drinks/biscuits so a fridge in the room would have been a bonus. The staff are very pleasant and customer focused, the fireplaces are superb examples of a passed era. Breakfast choice is standard but the portion of salmon was small.
This was our second visit but won't be the last

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratty666cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We are now regulars for the Northern Soul weekender in Whitby and this was our 2nd time staying in the Lodge. Our weekend was brilliant and staying here is a bonus. We now know which room to ask for and had a quite nights sleep on a very comfortable bed There are seagulls but you are in Whitby. The room was very clean and welcoming.The breakfast were plentiful and the scrambled eggs are delicious. The times for breakfast are great, especially after a late night. The hotel owners and staff are very nice, friendly and welcoming. We have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TOM O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here end of June when hubby did coast to coast bike ride,,had left it late to book anywhere so ended up here,, iv been a regular visitor to Whitby for over 20 years and have always promised myself that one day i would stay here,,
sadly i was disappointed and will not be rushing back,, the rooms although spacious are tired and grubby,,,the temp in our room was too hot and made it an uncomfortable night trying to sleep,,our ground floor room faced on to the main road so even if i had realised that the window did open (Doh!!) the noise from the road would have probably kept us awake instead,,,Our daughter and her partner had booked the family room which was on the second floor not very practical for someone with a buggy and 2 children to have to climb two flights of stairs,,,luckily for her she could leave the buggy in our room,, but for anyone else they would no doubt have to leave it in the entrance hall,, they also suffered the heat being on the top floor,,,even with their windows open.
After a 15hr bike ride my hubby didn't want to venture far for something to eat but due to the restaurant not serving food after 8.30 and not being able to get a seat in the very small bar and literally having to stand drink in hand in the reception area we had no choice but to head out into Whitby,,and had a lovely meal i might add at the Passage to India at the side of the train station,,,
Breakfast the following morning was awful,, swimming in grease

Its definitely not worth the price thats charged,,, the only good thing this place has going for it is the staff,, they were all cheerful and really helpful,,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAP67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in the Lodge which is located at the rear of the Hall. Good parking facilities on site which is great as some hotels do not have parking on site.
The room was compact but plenty of space to get around. Breakfast was in the hall and there was a good selection on offer.
The price per night is a little more than I would normally pay but take into account that the car parking on site saves you paying for public parking the price is good value.

Room Tip: Rooms at the Lodge are away from the main road so are quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andjanRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,081 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
850 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagdale Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagdale Hall Hotel

Address: 1 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Whitby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £114 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bagdale Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bagdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagdale Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing