We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay and eat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay and eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We went to Whitby for the day from Northumberland & decided to stay the night so we called in at Bagdale Hall Hotel & were greeted by a very friendly receptionist Adele who allowed us to view a room before we booked,room 9 has a four poster bed & en;suite facilities ,gorgeous decor & everything that we needed so we stayed .The restaurant is lovely & the food is exceptional ,delicious doesn't really do it justice .All of the produce is locally sourced & so very fresh ,we had a delicious evening meal in a wonderful setting & served by delightful ladies .Breakfast was another wonderful feast ,the chef certainly lived up to his reputation & we cannot sing the praises of Bagdale Hall Hotel enough & we most certainly will return .

Room Tip: Ask to view rooms before you decide ,we didn't have to ask as the receptionist was professional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rdburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    161
    56
    25
    28
See reviews for
53
414
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Over the years we have stayed at the Bagdale Hall on a number of occasions in both ‘The Lodge’ and No 4 Bagdale but never the hotel itself.

The Lodge more recently has undergone a revamp of most of its room’s and the one we stayed the weekend in, whilst small, was clean & tidy and had everything we required. It certainly looks the Lodge room on their website.

Breakfast is served in the hotel and provides a good start to the day, with the option of kippers id required.

The hotel has sufficient parking spaces for all its visitors and in Whitby this cant be undervalued especially if you have driven round in circles to try and find a parking space!

Room Tip: Check out the available rooms before you choose which one. They do vary in size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KVLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked here for a night to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. We were met by a pleasant young lady who checked us in with ease. We stayed in no 4 annex, the room was beautiful and spacious with a lovely ensuite. Yes you can hear the seagulls but it is the seaside they do stop squawking sometimes! Breakfast was served in the restaurant in the main hotel we did have a little wait from ordering to eating but the food was excellent as was the service. A lovely place to stay and with the added bonus of a carpark. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

What an amazing place to stay only stayed one night for my birthday. Staff are friendly and helpful, we stayed in room 3 of the main hall and it was absolutely stunning, a perfect nights sleep and very clean. Breakfast was lovely, well presented and well cooked. Will definitely be going to stay again for more than just a night and would recommend this place to stay to family and friends. Wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kloe-newbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderley Edge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Lovely old building with nice dining room, the bar more like a small neglected pub. Booked two best rooms a month in advance. When we arrived our rooms had been given away and we got two tiny rooms with small double beds in the so called lodge, if we'd had a cat there would not have been room to swing it. No sleep. Seagulls very noisy. Breakfast ok but trip spoiled.

Room Tip: Must be room in original building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capogatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in a suite and 4 poster overlooking the main road. We slept very well as the bed was so comfortable and as windows are double glazed traffic was not a problem , two bottles of water are with the drinks/biscuits so a fridge in the room would have been a bonus. The staff are very pleasant and customer focused, the fireplaces are superb examples of a passed era. Breakfast choice is standard but the portion of salmon was small.
This was our second visit but won't be the last

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratty666cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We are now regulars for the Northern Soul weekender in Whitby and this was our 2nd time staying in the Lodge. Our weekend was brilliant and staying here is a bonus. We now know which room to ask for and had a quite nights sleep on a very comfortable bed There are seagulls but you are in Whitby. The room was very clean and welcoming.The breakfast were plentiful and the scrambled eggs are delicious. The times for breakfast are great, especially after a late night. The hotel owners and staff are very nice, friendly and welcoming. We have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOM O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.3 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 1 Bagdale | North Yorkshire, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Whitby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing