We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and classy”
Review of Bagdale Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2005

My girlfriend and I stayed there for one night in March 2005 to celebrate our one-year anniversary. After searching for hotels and B&Bs with four-poster beds in Whitby to no avail - and, unfortunately, the local Tourist Information do not have great information about which places have four-posters - I resorted to booking in descending order of TripAdvisor ratings. It turned out that the only room that Bagdale Hall had left had a four-poster bed, so I booked it straight away for that night. Bed and Breakfast for two in a four-poster en suite cost GBP 118, which I would consider to be a middle-four-star rate for London or an upper-four-star rate for the provinces. Better rates may be available for those who can book in advance.

The hotel is 150 yards from the train station, as claimed, and the railway journey over the North Yorkshire Moors from Middlesbrough is a pretty one. Trains are fairly infrequent, though - five a day at most, and often none at all on Sundays. (Bus service is regular, but not the most comfortable.) The location is quiet - quieter than we expected considering the road it was on - though about 250 yards from the harbour.

We had one of eight small suites in a brightly-lit overflow facility about 20 yards from the main building. The room wasn't huge, but we were delighted with the four-poster canopy bed, which was luxurious, comfortable and extremely soft. The patterns on the canopy above us were not the most co-ordinated; we likened them to upside-down sad-looking fish. Cleanliness was excellent and the bathroom was unusually large, with a very pleasant shower. The facilities within the room were basic; no minibar and a TV with only four channels. Definitely a couples' hotel in a very couply town.

We didn't use the restaurant facilitiy for dinner, instead wandering the streets and (with the greatest of luck) hitting a Spanish bistro called Garriga's on the harbourfront that served very large platefuls that turned out to be excellent. The hotel restaurant quoted a typical price for two of GBP 50 to GBP 60, which gave me a little sticker shock; Garriga's turned out to cost GBP 46 plus tip but money extremely gratefully spent. We took breakfast at the hotel restaurant the next day and were highly impressed; I had fresh mango in strawberry liqueur and kedgeree, my girlfriend had a remarkably comprehensive fried breakfast with all the habitual trimmings and even haggis.

This is a small hotel with a highly-trained staff and managers who are genuinely proud and friendly rather than the typical corporate service that you get elsewhere. Not cheap, but a class act. Distinctive and firmly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

649 - 655 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2005

My boyfriend and I are just back from a lovely winter weekend break in Whitby. We decided to stay at Bagdale hall because we had passed it often on day trips and it looked mysterious and very well placed, just a stones throw from the town centre.
We stayed in the newly refurbished 'lodge' which is a couple of doors up. The room was very nice with a big, extremely comfortable four-poster bed and a spacious bathroom. It is expensive at £118 for one night even in the depths of winter; really just as a treat I'd say. It had no vacancies that weekend so you would definitely need to pre book. The breakfast was nice with a good choice although 9.30 is the latest time to be down even on a Sunday morning! We didn't eat in the restaurant because we thought the menu look very unimaginative for the prices being charged. You can pay the same for food in restaurants such as Greens or the White Horse and Griffin, both of which are particularly renown for their fab cuisine.
All in all though, a grand weekend :o)

7  Thank apkinguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2004

Without doubt the best hotel, by far, in Whitby. Superb food and stunning accomodation. Histoy atmosphere and style. Fantastic!

7  Thank Graham22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
East midlands, UK
Reviewed 1 September 2004

My partner and I decided to stay at Bagdale Hall in Whitby we often pass the hotel and every time we visit we say we will stay there next time....
Well next time came earlier this year.

I contacted the Hotel directly as I could not find a website from which I could book directly.

On entering the hotel one can sense the feeling of years of history, once checked in we were shown to our room which was absolutely massive with a large four poster bed and a fireplace that one could hold a dinner party in it was so large - and had the most wonderful delft tiles. As I walked past the fireplace and an armchair I had that 'walking on my grave' type feeling.

My partner and I went downstairs to have a nosey aroud and the receptionist asked if everything was OK. I happened to say you are going to tell me that there is a ghost in that room she looked at me and asked why and when I explained and said to her that I was not fearful she said that yes there had been reports of a victorian lady that had been seen in exactly the same place as I had my feeling !

On returning to the hotel that evening my partner and I deffinately felt the presence of something and although I hate to admit it - we slept with the light on all night. I will however assure future visitors to this room I am sure she was a friendly as nothing strange or startling happened and we awoke safe and sound.

The hotel is absolutely wonderful it has a genuine atmosphere, the staff are very fiendly and cannot do enough to help - thats what hospitality is really all about !

The breakfast was extremely good well cooked and very fresh, Its been a long time since I have seen such orange yolks in eggs.
The hotel is so central for the town and has good parking facilities at the rear of the property.

I think the Hotel is privately owned and it shows as the staff really do care about their guests.

Not the cheapest hotel in the area but what price for being totally cared for and to be visited by the resident ghost, and together with the wonderful breakfast this hotel is a real treat, and an experience !
I would say that maybe it could do with a bit of a refurbishment as some of the furnishings and colour schemes need attention, in the bedrooms - the public areas however are fine.

Maybe though this is what gives this hotel its charm !

  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leif E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016
Thank BarbaRinellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
Thank 47Gerrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#5 of 19 in Whitby
2,215 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#10 of 19 in Whitby
916 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#11 of 19 in Whitby
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#12 of 19 in Whitby
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#13 of 19 in Whitby
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 19 in Whitby
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagdale Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagdale Hall Hotel

Address: 1 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £117 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bagdale Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bagdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagdale Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing