We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found a gem”
Review of Bagdale Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2009

If you ever wish to stay at a place which epitomises,cleanliness,fanatastic food,good service and historical connections,just up from the harbour,stay here.
We were in the Lodge.100 metres from the Old Hall,beautiful room,parking just outside room,but what a breakfast.Eaten in the Old Hall Restaurant without doubt was the most comprehensive breakfast menus we have ever seen

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2009

We have just come back from an excellent stay at Bagdale Hall. The staff that we met were all lovely without exception and their pleasure was to ensure that you had a fabulous stay. Nothing was too much trouble and all were very approachable if we needed anything or wanted to query anything - what a pleasant change to some places we've been. We found the room and public areas clean and well maintained with charm and character in abundance. The food was first class with the breakfast being extremely generous. Had the best homemade steak pie and beef wellington that we have ever had. Location was fantastic with a two minute walk into town or to the marina. We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MercuryMotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

The Hotel looked great; it is a shame the whole experience was terrible.

After being told to 'book early to avoid disappointment', we arrived at 8pm with no other customers present, this should have set alarm bells ringing straight away.

We were soon rushed through ordering our wine and meals, food was rushed out and after asking to slow the service of food, we were finished by 8.30 pm, appetiser, starter and main course.

Food was awful, the crab cakes were served swimming and overpowered in a cheese sauce. I choose a roast leg of lamb which was served with SALAD and KUMQUAT and GRAVY on the same plate. The plate underneath was also crusted with old and crusty food. I presume it had been stood on a filthy surface prior to serving.

Not once throughout the whole night was we asked if our meals were acceptable and when we did manage to explain all of these problems to the staff before paying the bill, all I received was an ‘okay’.

After sending a letter of complaint I never received so much as a letter or phone call of apology.

Avoid Bagdale Hall restaurant at all costs.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnboyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

very friendly, especially the scottish house keeper who always met you with a smile and friendly chat. Accomodation clean and welcoming, lovely rooms, very oldie worldie !! intially room was cold but heating did come on later. Hot water at all times, breakfast was lovely. Dissapointed no mention or sightings of any ghosts despite haunted hotel websites stating that Bagdale Hall is haunted and it does come listed as one of the most haunted in that region.
other than that had wonderful night, is expensive but as a one off treat thouroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strika11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We stayed at Bagdale during our trip to Whitby, with no previous experience of the place, just a recommendation by a friend. We stayed in the Lodge which was basic but clean and very comfortable. The hotel in general has a friendly and homely atmosphere and the staff were polite and hospitable.
If you are looking for a hotel thats perfectly situatued (close to town - 5 min walk), with all the amenities you would need for a break by the sea, then look no further!!
Thanks guys...

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleigh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

One thing I wanted to do on my holiday to Whitby was to have Sunday lunch at Bagdale Hall and I was looking forward to it. What a disappointment. First of all we arrived at 1.30 to find that we were the only guests there and we were the first customers of the day. (Lunch finished at 2pm). We ordered a starter and the roast beef dinner.

Starters were ok. However, the roast beef was very dry, the roast potatoes did not resemble a proper roast potatoes and were hard. The vegetables were undercooked and hard, especially the broccoli. Even the gravy was thin and watery. It tasted as if it had all come out of the freezer, no wonder there wasn't anybody else in there. Sunday lunch, not the hardest thing in the world to cook but this was horrible.

I had to leave more than half my dinner it was that bad but even when I complained I was still charged full price. It cost £30 for me and my boyfriend to have a starter each, roast beef dinner and a drink. I don't mind paying if its good but when its rotten it is just not on.

For Sunday lunch you would be much better off going to Greens on Bridge Street or White Horse and Griffin on church Street.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank SydneybeanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

After 7 years of staying at the Bagdale it saddens me that the choices on the breakfast menu have been drastically reduced. It began with the shrinking of the sausage to a far inferior specimen followed by a total massacre- Kedgeree gone, Kidney Turbigo gone, fresh mango gone and to top it all the previously magnificent Bagdale breakfast no longer has haggis. I wanted to bring this up with the chef in the evening but apparently he has been banned from the bar. Come on guys bring back the offal.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazza_ip24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,162 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
894 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 19 in Whitby
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 19 in Whitby
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagdale Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagdale Hall Hotel

Address: 1 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £115 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bagdale Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bagdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagdale Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing