We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Seagull Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lynWs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage. Very clean and well equipped. Can't fault the cottage itself but the steps leading to it spoiled it. I think they would be very slippery in winter and anyone not confident on their feet would find it a little distressing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
A lot of time and effort goes into making sure my cottage is well presented at all times and correctly advertised. Such advert includes that the cottage is not suitable for guests with mobility issues. The Oxford Dictionaries definition of distressing is ' to cause anxiety, sorrow or pain '. None of these apply to the steps leading up to my cottage. Very disappointed by your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madamemim...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed last month with my daughter and nieces it really is a lovely cottage can't fault it, the reason i gave location a 3 is because i stay in whitby every year and im use to waking up to seeing the sea so that is my opinion if the location do t let it put you off, however it is very close to everything confusing to find at first and no good for girls who like to wear heels as there are lots and lots if steps before the steps it shows on the pictures so we had to get our flats out. The flat has dehumidifiers and the fill up very quickly and are quite noisy so best to leave them off when your in .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2016
Thank you for the review. Sorry you were disappointed with the location, however the cottage is not advertised as having a sea view. The dehumidifier is more as a precaution to stop the build up of moisture in such an old property. As explained in the welcome book you are welcome to keep it turned off during your stay. We all have different standards and expectations and it is really important to read the description of the property carefully before booking to make sure it meets your requirements.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin_smo...
Derbys
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a great cottage it's credit to the owner who has thought of everything to make it a home from home it has a really relaxed feel to it. The location of the cottage is perfect only five minutes walk to the hustle and bustle of the town and ten if that to the beach. The kids loved the added touches like the PlayStation in the top room and we loved the fact the cottage is far enough away from the town to be calm and relaxing but close enough not to have to use my car all week (result),the other added bonus was the little suntrap attached to the side of the cottage. Overall a really relaxing time was had by all including the dog and the only bad point as my son said was "I don't want to go home can I stay here" which said it all for me.
So we will defiantly be back next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Look forward to welcoming you back next year :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graftonfr...
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were pleased to get a partial week rental and absolutely loved the cottage! It is a beautifully renovated cottage in an ideal location. Sharan was excellent to work with.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for this great review. Much appreciated :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazdaz76
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab, fab , fab”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Loved every minute, great location,clean lovely cottage comfy beds. Steps are hard to get up with shopping and luggage but that's only a little thing and don't forget loo rolls like we did! Wish I was back there x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Thank you for such a positive review. Hope you return soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
691tracy
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
“Perfect location, contemporary and well appointed cottage”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We are really fussy about accommodation as it can really make or break a holiday for us. Seagull Cottage is very contemporary and modern. It has quirky add-ons and tasteful touches to the décor to differentiate it from apartments that are purely furnished in a minimalist way. It also has good levels of natural light.

Very comfortable and very warm in all respects. Plenty of consistent hot water and the bathroom on the main bedroom level is a very generous size. It has a nice modern and spacious kitchen.

This is a very well appointed apartment and easy walking distance into the centre even when raining. We found it perfectly positioned and walked everywhere.

The area is also quiet.

You need to be able to manage luggage in relation to the stairs - both interior and exterior. If you have a vehicle factor in this is parked at a street away from the apartment ( a few minutes walk), and not directly outside the apartment. This was no problem for us. Directions and options are clearly provided.

We would definitely stay here again.

Sharan is also excellent at communicating information about the apartment and addressing any questions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Contemporary cottage that allows you to experience living like a local and not a tourist.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. It is really appreciated :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SillyMill
Teesside
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SillyMill (Teesside)”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just stayed in Seagull Cottage with my husband and our dog for the 2nd year running, this amazing cottage has everything you need, it's cosy and warm, milk, biscuits tea and coffee waiting for you on arrival..short walk into Whitby.
Previously stayed in Abbey View Cottage nearby same beautiful decor inside..
Thinking of staying in one of Sharan's other places next time for a change..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I look forward to welcoming you back. I wonder which property you will choose next time

Kind regards Sharan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing