We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Green Man

lounge/kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lounge/kitchen
top bedroom middle bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
10 reviews
lounge/kitchen
top bedroom
middle bedroom
kitchen/lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paulthomp...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Having booked at short notice and location thought brilliant . Upon arrival met at loading bay to unload car and dog then parked in car park space provided. Short walk back to cottage. 1st impressions I thought how quirky it was and location of it couldn't be any better. Walk through the door and the fusty smell hits you. Note on Wall saying please leave it clean and tidy when we leave!!!! Made me chuckle. Dust covering most things. Found old bottles under bed with old tissues. Electric extension cables hung down from TV in bedroom, these being pat tested but 4 months out of date. The socket the extension was plugged into coming off the wall.
The shower bathroom ( having read on a previous comment it had 4000 spent on it and had a previous leak) was still leaking. The radiator was also leaking and hanging off the wall.
Stairs dangerous having slipped down them. Hand rails on stairs loose. 1 of them attached to a panel that moves. Accident waiting to happen.. I would not trust these stairs with children about.
Was overall dirty and grubby in real need of attention.
I never complain about things normally but really need this to be aired.
Whitby is a lovely place and the weather was better than expected but this put a damper on things.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Sorry you were not happy with the cottage we did text you on arrival to see if everything was OK, again you were asked before you left and again you didn't say anything was wrong. we only live next door and could have sorted out 70% these complaints immediately, we certainly needed to know if the shower was leaking because this can only happen when the shower is used, we didn't see any leak on the radiator but if it is in fact leaking we will get the plumber back we will ask the people that are in to check for us.
we do get over 60% re-books on this cottage with one family coming for over 20 years
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was so glad we booked this cottage for our stay in whitby. The location is perfect... Near to all amenities!

The cottage itself is cosy and quaint... Maybe a little updating is needed on some of the facilities and decor but that is a minor snag and wouldnt stop me from visiting again!

All essentials for self catering are provided... Pots, pans, glasses, mugs, kettle, toaster, oven.. Everything you need!

Would defo recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtnryv...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage close to the heart of whitby”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Clean tidy cottage close to the heart if Whitby. Friendly people. Accepts dogs. Value for money. Cottage has lots of usefylk things to use also access to washing machines.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnKP
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Grear stay during a stormy cold weekend. The cottage was warm and cosy all weekend and had everything we need. Bed was comfortable, didnt notice any noise. we found it quiet. The decor won't be to everyone taste but for £25 pppn I dont expect cream carpets or granite worktops. It was clean enough, the shower room looked new and everything worked. I would certainly return and recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Thank you I am pleased you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jill c
1 review
“never again”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

very disappionted. The Green Man has great potential to be a beautiful cottage- however it seems nothing has been spent on this cottage for more than 30 years!! Really in need of some TLC and a make over and a major clean. Dusty everywhere and thick dust on fire extinguisher, behind beds under beds, in cupboard draws and the shower leaks.
great location, however given instructions not clear.
would never pass ' Four in a Beds' standards. or mine.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
I am sorry that were disappionted with the cottage we have just spent over �4000 on the shower room and when you said that it leaking we got the plumber back to look into and he ame the same day you did not tell that this was not sorted. Also I did ask if everything was OK and was any thing else wrong and i was told that everything was fine.
we do have over 200 testimonials from very satified customers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dragonlov...
wigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing location”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have been to Whitby many times and you would be hard pressed to find accomodation providing parking so close to the beach and amenities. The cottage has the best equipped kitchen of any rental I have used. The bedrooms have decent beds and enougn pillows were provided, my grandson loved the bunkbeds and my grandaughter had the double room to herself. The beach is about 2 minutes away and the centre of Whitby less than 5, it is ideal for exploring the town. I had my 7 year old grandson and 13 year old grandaughter with me and they loved it. The only downside is the beer delivery to the pub nearby in the morning around 7.30 am. The only reason that I have given this 4 stars not 5 is the lack of any usable outside space, not even anywhere to sit and have a brew. Having said that I would book again and certainly recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a central location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: beer delivery nearby
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ch00ts
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

when we first arrived i was slightly worried about the location, as it is smack bang in the middle of the busiest part of whitby and my son had fetched his new motorcycle , but within minutes my mind was at ease that everything would be just fine it wasn't even touched for the whole stay , there is space to load and unload but you park the car elsewhere for a small fee , which isn't too far to walk back to the cottage . The cottage is tucked away up a set of steps which wasn't a problem to us , you cannot expect to come to whitby and not expect find hills or steps, the cottage itself is extremely well equipped and there was nothing that we needed that we didn't have , my wife even got out the table and chairs and set it for dinner as she does at home and managed took us a 3 course Sunday lunch without any issues despite the kitchen being unfamiliar to her she said it was extremely easy to master. We could take the dog with us too which was a massive bonus and he loved it too , the stairs inside are steep and i would not recommend for very young children or the elderly or overly large people , but it does say all of this on the website (except the large people bit , dont think they are allowed to put that ) . There is some noise in the mornings as the steps are access to all other cottages and the delivery to the pub , but when i say early i mean about 8am same with the pub coming out at 11pm but its short lasting and no one can control what comes out of peoples mouths on the way back from the pub , just remember the cottage really in right in the heart of whitby , which as the week goes on you will learn to really appreciate. My daughter loved the attic room with the bunk beds she spent most of the time in there pretending it was pirate caves and as the cottage has a safety gate i wasnt worried about her falling down the stairs (shes 5 ) .we will defiantly be returning and are hoping to get a christmas date also as the cottage really does feel like home after a couple of days, i can honestly say i didn't want to come back home .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and , comfort , well equipped
Liked least: the place needs a new bath
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing