We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay”
Review of The Wheeldale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wheeldale
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Recently enjoyed a three night stay.Room large and comfy with good facilities.Owners and staff friendly and helpful.Pleasant 10 minute walk into town.Would thouroughly recommend,especially the full English breakfast-thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for The Wheeldale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

Myself and my wife had a 2 night stay, and it was a late booking,
We were shown to room 11, part of what looked like a reasonably new extension,
The room was airey and spacious, with an amazing en-suite bathroom, a very comfortable bed, and large screen hd tv with access to ALL Sky channels (at no extra charge) downstairs they had a more than formidable breakfast room and a very comfortable lounge with lots of amenities.
The breakfast was very generous with coffee/tea and toast on free flow they also had limited off road parking which was helpful.
Located on the North promenade overlooking Whitby Abbey and a sea view to the Front with Whitby cricket club to the back it was easy to reach all the local amenities within about 5 mins by car.
We would very highly recommend the Wheeldale to our family and friends.

Room Tip: They all appeared good, the rooms with sea views were more expensive
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelots69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We visited from Australia in May 2013. What a lovely place to stay, the owners were very helpful, rooms are excellent. Lovely lounge area downstairs and we made good use of the honour bar fridge. The full english breakfast is a must have. Thank you Peter, Rebecca and family for a wonderful stay in Whitby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We have spent another enjoyable weekend at the Wheeldale. It is ideally placed on the West Cliff as it's just a short stroll down to the beach or a bit longer stroll into town. The breakfast was better than ever - if that's possible! The owners and staff are lovely; nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and have all you could wish for in terms of power shower, TV, kettle with more than adequate supply of coffee, tea, etc. Give it a try - I'm sure you'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 this time, which is a bit bigger than Room 1 - no real view from the window, but...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carnivalqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I'd like to say thank you to Peter Coleman, Rebecca Coleman & family; staff and pets for making me feel welcomed during my 4 night stay in May 2013. The accommodation was very comfortable, luxurious and perfectly spotless. Additionally, the hospitality is outstanding with everyone at the Wheeldale being very obliging & striving to do their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. In contrast to other B&B's, I found this accommodation very cheap with the return service to be high quality & excellent . This guest accommodation is literally on the promenade, and a 3-minute walk away from the beach. I give this accommodation and excellent 10/10, and will return next year quite happily.

Room Tip: •Rooms on the south side are quieter, very luxurious and perfectly spotless •Corner suites are larg...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed in the hotel for a couple of nights over the holiday weekend. It's a great little place, we had a good sized room with a lovely sea view, there was also a large and very clean bathroom. Breakfast one of the best ever in a small hotel, they serve quality local sausages which were much better than the usual "catering" type! Breakfast service was a a bit rushed - breakfast finishes at 9am, which is a little early if you are looking for a relaxed weekend break! A place I'd definitely go back to, regardless, though a later 10am breakfast finish would make the experience perfect...

Room Tip: Go for the sea view if you can
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjw1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night over the bank holiday. We parked on the road outside as the car park was full which was fine. Warm welcome from staff. Stayed in room 2 which had been converted to a double from a twin at my request. Comfy bed, loads of room. Ensuite spotlessly clean. No view from the window but that was fine as I wasn't planning on being in the room looking out the window when I could be stood on the beach.
Loved the sitting room with tea and coffee, snacks and the honesty fridge. Plenty of DVDs to watch on a rainy day too.
Breakfast the next morning was freshly cooked. A variety of cereal was available as were fruit, fruit juices and yoghurt. If you didn't want a full English there were lighter alternatives. I had poached egg on toast which was no trouble. Lots of toast and tea and coffee.
We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginga4283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
2,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#17 of 20 in Whitby
216 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheeldale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheeldale

Address: 11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £67 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wheeldale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wheeldale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldale Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing