We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good, will go again. ”
Review of The Wheeldale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wheeldale
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very very good, will go again. ”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and were made very welcome. Our son is working in Whitby and is booked in for two weeks. It is a great hotel/B&B. it is very clean and the room (6) was great. We even had a balcony, andSky TV in the room. there were computers in the common room. The breakfast was of a very high standard, which is a credit to the owners.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank F13LEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    101
    40
    8
    14
See reviews for
25
292
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stopped here again and got a great room rate out of season on the first floor at the front , the room had a pair of comfy bucket chairs so you could look towards the sea and harbour ,to the right .You do get your fair share of nosy dog walkers gaping up ,so if you don,t like that kind of thing pick another room . Very Friendly staff and a warm welcome , the breakfast is in my top ten for their full English , really tasty .Also we have a very firm bed at home and this bed was soft ,my sleep wasn,t affected ,not with a few beers in town ,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freeparkingpleze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the wheeldale hotel, beautiful ground floor room with its own access. Room was very clean and well presented, breakfast was best we've had in whitby and owner was very friendly. We will be returning back soon :) Mr & Mrs Fraser from West Yorkshire

Room Tip: Ground floor room is excellent with its own front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you very much for your great review.Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed on the nights 5th and 6th December 2013 and had room 3. Reasonable sized room with a bay window and two comfy chairs at the front of the hotel giving very nice views along the coat in both directions. Parking was no problem which I would expect in early December but having also visited Whitby in August during 'Folk Week' I realise that parking can be difficult in high season. The hotel has its own car park and it is pointed out that using some spaces may mean waiting for other cars to move before you can leave but this was not a problem on this visit. The hotel advertises that the bacon and sausages are from a 'local butcher'. The bacon was some of the best I have tasted and I did see a butchers van arrive with a delivery of sausages, having a little knowledge of the 'food industry' I would say these were freshly made and not from an anonimous factory. The room was clean and warm, the sound insulation was good. (This was the night of the storm which caused a lot of damage across the country) You could not hear the wind at all. I would certainly go back there again and would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Use the web site, gives views of each room. rooms at the front overlook the cliffs and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter-e-folkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for the great review and for mentioning our quality breakfast which the bacon and suasages are from Ford Butchers of Glaisdale

We also take pride in the quality of all our rooms and have now finished our room 7 so next time you are in Whitby give that room a try.
Thanks once more for the very positive review.

Best Regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

24th -26th oct.We stayed in room 1, knowing that this was a small double I was really surprised with the quality of the room , the bathroom was very clean with a great shower and full sports package on the sky TV. Each morning we had there full English breakfast which was gorgeous, with great service. With only a ten minute walk into Whitby center its a great location, really quiet .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I booked 3 nights through Booking.com and got B&B for £50 per night. Everything was clean & comfortable and Rebecca was most helpful. The breakfast was delicious and varied. The first night was spent in the small double with a sea view on the second floor (room 7) and the next two nights in room 9, a superior double with a balcony overlooking the cricket ground. Both very well appointed and quiet. Nice touch in the lounge, where you could watch TV or DVD, read or get a drink (alcoholic & non alcoholic) or snack and pay via an 'honesty book'. Sky TV and free WiFi was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We stay at the wheeldale twice a year during the 60's weekends. Rooms are small but nice and clean and sky tv and free wi-fi in all rooms is very welcome. Breakfast is really nice and always look foreword to it , Peter and Rebecca the owners are very friendly and we will be rebooking for June next year !!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gasman440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,043 reviews
0.5 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#9 of 20 in Whitby
1,128 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
498 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#8 of 20 in Whitby
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheeldale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheeldale

Property: The Wheeldale
Address: 11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wheeldale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Wheeldale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldale Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing