We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of The Wheeldale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wheeldale
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for one night,The welcome was excellent as was the room, we backed on too the cricket field,The room was massive as was the bathroom with a big corner bath,The breakfast was lovely, All nicely made just as we asked, All in all our stay was super.

Room Tip: We did not see the rooms that look out too sea, But were very happy with the room we had.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PonteBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for The Wheeldale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

stayed for just 1 night as a birthday treat for my husband in room 12 super large with a double bed and another room with 2 single bed lots of space lovely bathroom and all spotlessly clean the breakfast was excellent and a lovely friendly lady serving us lots of choices would stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank heathcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the Wheeldale and we would recommend it. Rooms are spacious and warm (we visited in February) - We are always well-looked after, the breakfasts are delicious and there is something for everyone's tastes and appetites.We will definitely stay at the Wheeldale again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JanetM1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have stayed three times now for long weekends at the Wheeldale. There is always a warm welcome , a warm comfortable and well appointed room with en-suite, complimented by a tasty breakfast to start the day in the guests dining room. The guests lounge is also well provided for with comfortable seating, a wide screen TV, complimentary PC and a selection of beverages. Parking at the Wheeldale is immediately outside the hotel and it is also easy to walk into Whitby.

Whitby itself is an fascinating location steeped in history and legend with a superb working harbour, together with many and diverse attractions and easy access to the North Yorkshire Moors, the Steam railway and Historic coastline.
The history of Whitby is well worth researching before your visit. There is much to see.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Me & my partner went for 3 nights for his birthday & to be honest,it couldn't have been any better.Its an absolutely cracking hotel & on every occasion that we've been,we've thoroughly enjoyed it.Its a pleasure to stay here & will be doing again,I'm sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JoSayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely spacious room, huge television with Sky, wifi, bathroom with spa corner bath made my stay very comfortable. Walk outside to the sea view across the road. Bar facilities and a large collection of DVD,s for use in the communal lounge. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed in room 11 which was a view of the cricket field. Massive room, lots of windows, lovely bathroom with a huge corner bath (a tons of hot water) plenty of tea and coffee sachets in the room, which is a plus because we usually take our own tea bags due to my partner drinking so much of it! We only met Peter and he was very friendly and helpful, we didn't go down for breakfast as we were a little tired due to some noisy guests staying above us but we may not have gone for breakfast any way just because we don't really get hungry early.
Location wise it's fantastic, we know Whitby well but if someone didn't it's lovely 5 min walk to the whale bones then down into town.
The room itself was spotless, loads of storage space for clothes, sky TV was great as we aren't really one for the pubs we were more staying over so we could go out for tea and then get an early start before town got busy. So basically it was perfect for us and we would definitely stay again, and try the breakfast next time!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank xbeccax1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
2,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#17 of 20 in Whitby
216 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheeldale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheeldale

Address: 11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £68 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wheeldale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Wheeldale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldale Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing