We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best in whitby” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheeldale

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Wheeldale
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“best in whitby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here four times now and always feel welcome the rooms are spotless, lovely bathrooms and the breakfast,s are the best you will get in Whitby .Good parking and excellent sea view
A superb two nights

Room Tip: rooms 4 and 5 have great sea views room 5 has large bay window to sit in
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    92
    37
    7
    13
See reviews for
24
267
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ponte
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for one night,The welcome was excellent as was the room, we backed on too the cricket field,The room was massive as was the bathroom with a big corner bath,The breakfast was lovely, All nicely made just as we asked, All in all our stay was super.

Room Tip: We did not see the rooms that look out too sea, But were very happy with the room we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PonteBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

stayed for just 1 night as a birthday treat for my husband in room 12 super large with a double bed and another room with 2 single bed lots of space lovely bathroom and all spotlessly clean the breakfast was excellent and a lovely friendly lady serving us lots of choices would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank heathcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the Wheeldale and we would recommend it. Rooms are spacious and warm (we visited in February) - We are always well-looked after, the breakfasts are delicious and there is something for everyone's tastes and appetites.We will definitely stay at the Wheeldale again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JanetM1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have stayed three times now for long weekends at the Wheeldale. There is always a warm welcome , a warm comfortable and well appointed room with en-suite, complimented by a tasty breakfast to start the day in the guests dining room. The guests lounge is also well provided for with comfortable seating, a wide screen TV, complimentary PC and a selection of beverages. Parking at the Wheeldale is immediately outside the hotel and it is also easy to walk into Whitby.

Whitby itself is an fascinating location steeped in history and legend with a superb working harbour, together with many and diverse attractions and easy access to the North Yorkshire Moors, the Steam railway and Historic coastline.
The history of Whitby is well worth researching before your visit. There is much to see.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Me & my partner went for 3 nights for his birthday & to be honest,it couldn't have been any better.Its an absolutely cracking hotel & on every occasion that we've been,we've thoroughly enjoyed it.Its a pleasure to stay here & will be doing again,I'm sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JoSayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely spacious room, huge television with Sky, wifi, bathroom with spa corner bath made my stay very comfortable. Walk outside to the sea view across the road. Bar facilities and a large collection of DVD,s for use in the communal lounge. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tatehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
0.5 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#15 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheeldale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheeldale

Property: The Wheeldale
Address: 11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wheeldale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Wheeldale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldale Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing