We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheeledale Hotel, Whitby”
Review of The Wheeldale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wheeldale
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We all had a fab time here, it was like home from home, we stayed in room no 6 which had a nice size room then stairs up to a loft conversion which my daughter found amazing, big flat screen tv with sky was an added bonus too. The owners and staff were all very friendly and we will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We enjoyed our room with sea views and loved the luxuriuous shower-room. Everything spotless and Peter and Rebecca welcoming as usual and Ann served us the excellent breakfasts. Can't wait till our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DelphineMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Booked at short notice but not a problem, the hotel was spotlessly clean, had smart rooms, great TV, fantastic breakfast and stunning views, it was our first time in Whitby, we would highly recommend this hotel as your base just slightly away from the busy centre it is perfectly located to take a shirt walk into the busy center

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

great views of the sea (when no fog about), make sure you go for sea view rooms and a warm hat is advisable for walking into town, as if its windy (particularly in feb & march) it can get rather cold as its quite exposed, if your there on a weekend, The Elsinore in town is well worth checking out, as they usually have live music on weekends. would recommend the place and would stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have stopped here on a number of occasions and have always enjoyed our stay. The staff have always been pleasant and helpful,the rooms clean and well appointed,and the food excellent.All in all an excellent set up.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chasfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for three nights in February, room was clean and warm, with a lovely view, room 3, I think?
The breakfast was lovely.
All staff were very friendly and obliging.
The patron was very friendly and helpful.
Cannot understand negative reviews previously published.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just got back after staying for 1 night last night. We stayed in the small double which more than suited our needs. Bed was really comfy and the shower was amazing. Having a self service bar area in the lounge was a nice extra, guests are trusted to be honest with what they have. Breakfast this morning was gorgeous, an amazing way to set you up for the day. Will definitely stay there on our next stay in Whitby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
0.7 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
2 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
1,229 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 19 in Whitby
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheeldale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheeldale

Address: 11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £58 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wheeldale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wheeldale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldale Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing