We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
240
112
48
8
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
240
112
48
8
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky tv sea view cricket field honesty bar comfy bed room number toast sea front big bathroom west cliff short break cooked breakfast lounge area choice of cereals breakfast was excellent full english plenty of hot water
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018

A friend and I stayed overnight at the Wheeldale. Both had lovely rooms, comfortable beds, en suite, tv, tea and coffee making facility - everything you could need along with pleasant, friendly and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast. Asked for poached eggs which were spot on. The Wheeldale is in a great location a short pleasant walk along the cliff tops into Whitby. Parking not a problem which was a big bonus. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Came to this hotel 10 years ago for our honeymoon, Decided we just had to return for our 10 year anniversary, so glad we did. What a gem of a hotel, lovely hosts, rooms clean and cosy, breakfast fantastic, we will be returning. Thank you for a fabulous 5 nights.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank abookaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Hi Abookaholic

We are very pleased you returned to us and the top mark which you have given us on the review.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

Well kept and friendly, breakfast is filling and well worth it. This establishment is just in walking distance of Whitby itself and the Abbey. Car parking can be awkward as your car can be blocked in if you need to go out at night. There are signs saying this in the spaces, having said this its still worth stayin as thee rooms are spacious with Sat Tv and tea facilities.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PilotC172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Hi Kev

Thanks for the 5 star review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.The car park is not the best but there is usually space opposite if needed.Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We stopped overnight at The Wheeldale earlier this month on a short road trip up to the Edinburgh Fringe and Tattoo. We found it clean, spacious and very friendly with a great freshly prepared English Breakfast included in the price. The location is very good for the town, just far enough out to have a pleasant 10 minute walk into the centre along the cliff top.
Tip: arrive reasonably early to get off road parking although parking on the road is allowed.
Thoroughly recommend The Wheeldale and hope to return soon.

Room tip: Book direct and ask for a sea view.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank adi0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hi adiOna

Thanks for the 5 star review.We hope and try very hard to maintain the highest of standards.We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Good location, nice hotel ,Friendly helpful staff and cats ! Very good breakfast and service . My only niggle is there were no bedside lamps, we were reading so had to get up again to turn main light off .

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank roncob-73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Hi Roncob-73

Thanks for the good review.We are very pleased about the breakfast and quality of it.The cats and all of us here look forward to seeing you again soon.

kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews