We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hang On A Minute” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheeldale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wheeldale
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hang On A Minute”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

Let's not get carried away here! Wife and I stayed one night and frankly if this hotel is number 1 in Whitby then it does not say a huge amount for the rest. Yes it is in a nice position. Yes it is clean. Yes service is good and breakfast is OK. BUT it is a B&B!! Quite expensive for what it is, particularly as we were out of season. Bedroom cluttered with too much cheap furniture and suffering from "Changing Rooms" syndrome. Public areas have dreadful patterned carpets and old-school hotel wallpaper. Had the worst nights sleep for ages on a soft mattress and when I mentioned it the next morning got a laugh from the patron.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VikingDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    92
    37
    7
    13
See reviews for
24
267
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

our stay was a last minute decision and wanted a hotel with a sea view and luckily they had vacancies when we drove past. The hosts were very friendly and came and joined us in the lounge which has a good selection of dvd's and a supply of beers and wines i the fridge. We enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to stop for a second night. Also a good choice at breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline22Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

Have just enjoyed a wonderfull weekend at the Wheeldale. Fantastic breakfast and a very comfortable bed. We had a sea view room with great a view. We will definately be making a return visit soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

Stayed the one night and stay was everything i could ask for. Lovely spacious room with sea view, very large spacious bathroom (room 8) and bed was extremley comfortable and parking was fine.

Brilliant location too.

Sadly didnt get up for breakfast (partly due to how nice the bed was!) but it smelled lovely.

Will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blakey1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

Stayed from Friday night until Monday morning. Excellent accommodation. The breakfast was superb. We stayed in a sea view room with tea/coffee making facilities, dvd ( lots of DVDs in the lounge to borrow), large bathroom and loads of drawers and wardrobe space. The lounge also offers a self service fridge fully stocked with beer, wine and sodas - help yourself and write in a book what you have had. There is also nuts and crisps in case you feel peckish. Free Wi Fi access throughout. Although the proprieters welcomed us, showed us the room and the lounge etc they were not 'in your face' - but always around if you needed anything. I would highly recommend this hotel if yoi are planning to stay in Whitby.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

We had been away for xmas in the Darlington area and wanted to extend our stay to an extra night by the sea. The hotel was 1 of a few open and welcoming of enquiries. The manager helped us with baggage despite his having a bad back. We had a junior room suite, a great spacious 2 storey suite with fab views, 2 bathroom facilities and the hotel was was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and with great views of the sea. It is a 3 storey building so not the easiest access for disabled visitors but it is was still as comfortable and accessible as its design will allow. Each room in the suite had modern digital TV's and a playstation facililty with games. The lounge has a bar and internet access. The staff are friendly and attentive. It's a family owned buisness with pictures of the owners family discreetly evident throughout. Set far enough out of the main town to feel the full benefit of a seaside retreat but still close enough to be in walking distance of the town centre.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BanditLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2008

We stayed here for a two night stay in mid November. We found the hotel to have excellent facilities in the well equipped lounge. Breakfasts were good with an excellent choice of cereals, and with well above average portions!

Our room, the attic room, was clean, tidy and spacious, although not very practical for those with mobility problems. The sit down shower was a little unusual, but never the less we would stay here again.

The only negative comment I could make, was that it was a little out of the way for the town of Whitby and can be a bit exposed if the weather is bad.

  • Liked — The views and the room
  • Disliked — The distance from the town
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WestYorksTraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#15 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.7 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.6 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheeldale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheeldale

Property: The Wheeldale
Address: 11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wheeldale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Wheeldale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldale Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing