We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Resolution Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resolution Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

staff were really helpfull,room very clean and comfortable,had everything we needed to enjoy our stay,enjoyed drinks in cellar bar in afternoon at happy hour prices,and enjoyed live band in main bar at night.breakfast is self serve buffet had lots of choice and was very hot, great hotel close to the harbour and centre of whitby,parked on a side street for free with no problems 1 street away,great stay,would definitleystay again

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,142)
There are newer reviews for Resolution Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night after going walking around Whitby a warm welcome told if need to no anything just to ring down and they would sort it great view from window of abbey had a evening meal well worth it breakfast in morning spot on just help yourself to all you want over all well worth the money will stay again

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_PeterSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed one night at the Resolution Hotel in early May. We were very impressed. The communal areas are clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Our room was well decorated and clean. Nice central position within easy walking distance of the harbour area. We would definitely stay again and definitely recommend to family and friends. We had a drink in the main bar which again was clean and staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveGrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I have been going to the Res for years when I visit Whitby. I really like the venue and love the bands they have on (Vince Ripper was brilliant last week) ... BUT.... they dont' do many ales or bitters either on tap or in bottles, and whenever there is an event on, they always run out. I don't drink anything else, so what happens is that I end up having a lime and soda instead of several pints of bitter, and usually going to another pub before hand to get a few in me. If only they could get theri act together and order enough to keep up with demand, then it would be a perfect venue. There is no excuse.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

stayed here 13th to 15th april 2012 ( 2 nights ) with 2 friend s and very surprised first of all with price for b and b , although the 3 of us were sharing a room we were still highly satified with the price we were charged.very pleasant staff mostly young ladies and were very helpfull.room was clean and airy with no street noise that i can remember . two bars in hotel , celler bar with disco playing motown which i thougherly enjoyed and main bar which is a massive space where they have live band s on a sat night. also i seem to remember a happy hour or hours on the afternoon where the drinks were cheap and very nice too. i have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and been satisfied each time , but i understand it has changed hands since my last visit and i have to say it is for the better.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevinb186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

A nice hotel, friendly staff, well situated for everything in Whitby. The room was very clean, well decorated and spacious. Worth the visit just for the breakfast, full English and as much as you wished for, no complaints there :-). The lift was an added bonus, been to many hotels with stairs only.
Would definitely recommend for any visitor to Whitby.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Have just returned from our 1 night stay at the Resolution Hotel and although we travel on a regular basis this is the first time I've ever felt the need to submit a review.

From the very first contact I found every member of staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were nicely decorated with excellent views from the 2nd floor. The staff directed me to a small car park only a few minutes walk atway (carpaking is usually not great in Whitby) which was £4.50 for 24 hours.

We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent and guests received a 20% discount on top of the reasonable standard cost. The inclusive buffet breakfast was also of a very good standard with a good choice.

From reading previous reviews it appears that the present owners are fairly new, and if this is the case then they are definitely going in the right direction, have employed great staff and deserve to be successful. We look forward to returning in the future.

Stayed: April 2012
3  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
439 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resolution Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Hotel

Address: 1 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: £48 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Resolution Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Resolution Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resolution Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing