We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A*”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Resolution Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resolution Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
County Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A*”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2008

The Resolution Hotel, what can I say. Warm, friendly with enthusiastic staff and great value for money!

As i have always worked in hotels and restaurants I know what the standards should be and I am suprised to hear one of the above reviews recommend The George Hotel. As a regular visitor to Whitby, we have stayed at the George, we found it loud and unclean with total gormless staff. I should note that unless the person has ever been put through the dire accomodation at The George they should not advise unsuspecting people to do so.

Any way back to point, on arriving at the Resolution we were welcomed by a fantastic young lady, who ran through everything from parking to locking the hotel door. After looking through an array of fantastic comments in the visitors book at reception, we dropped off our bags and headed straight for the bar. On arriving we were greated by the same young lady and we were quickly served with a smile. I must admit the menu doesn't match the grand design of the building, but it is fantastic value for money and for £10 we were greated with two huge home made fresh meals that were to die for. I must add also that if you were to chose any night to dine at The Resolution it would have to be Saturday. Two fresh steaks, with an array of vegetables and a bottle of rather nice wine for around £25.

Other restaurants nearby to recommend are The Moon and Sixpence, and Moutreys, slightly more expensive, but definately worth the extra few pounds.

To finish I would definately like to recommend the Resolution Hotel to people of all ages as there is something for everyone to enjoy.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Slightly aged decor
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    412
    196
    55
    44
See reviews for
87
698
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2007

A review of an English hotel from Englishman this time. The Resolution, this is a difficult one.

Location wise the hotel is in an excellent position, on a hill(Whitby is all hills) a couple of minutes walk from the harbour and its associated hustle and bustle.

There are literally hundreds of pubs, and eateries ranging from tea rooms, to cafes and top restaurants. There is loads to do even in winter, from ghosts walks (Whitby is the home of Dracula, the book was written there) to Captain Cook museums amongst others. There are Captain Cook replica boat trips and the North Yorks Moors Steam Railway runs from Whitby. It is a lively place, you won't be bored exploring the narrow cobbled streets.

The Resolution itself has two main bars and a restaurant, the bars are spacous each having a pool table and room to move. Drinks are reasonably priced. Apparently at the time of writing the hotel has been very recently taken over this has had a profound effect on the food menus. The menu on the Resolution web site looks excellent, as does the menu just outside the establishment, forget those, currently the menu is more beefburger and chips than the type of food found in an established restaurant. However the breakfast is substanital and well presented, though the view of many guests is that the bacon is over-cooked!


I must, at this point, draw attention to the cost of many of the pubs and restaurants in Whitby. Fish and chips in 'Trenchers' is about £12.00. The 'Grill' on Skinner Street will relieve you of £17+ for a steak with most pubs charging towards £3.00 for a pint of lager. This, to my mind is expensive. Undoubtedly the best place we found to eat is the restaurant at 'The George,' excellent food and much cheaper! 16oz steaks too!! Mings Palace next to the George also does superb Chinese food, if a little pricey.

I digress, and to continue with the review of the Resolution. The staff are friendly and do their best to make people feel welcome, upon reporting a fault with the heater, a young man arrived and fixed the problem.

The main downside with this hotel are the rooms. Apparently (apart from the Honeymoon Suite) they are all of similar size. The main part of the bedroom we had was approximately twelve feet by eight feet, into that was packed an occassional table, a huge desk, a large wardrobe, a chair, two bedside cabinets and the bed! Whoever decided upon the layout of the room and its furniture is clearly extremely fit, as my wife and I found it comparable to taking part in the Krypton Factor obstacle race moving from the partial harbour view window to the en suite!! To be fair the bathroom, which was almost as large as the rest of the room was very good, clean and well maintained with an excellent shower. As it ought to be for £75 per night!

In conclusion, we had a great time in Whitby, I recommend the pub The Granby, just up the road from the Resolution, to drink in. With Halloween approaching it was the Goth Festival in Whitby and the whole town was jumping and alive with atmosphere.

I could not recommend the Resolution to stay in because of the size of the rooms, but would however suggest the George which is considerably cheaper and has excellent food.

Englishman

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — A dog kennel sized room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Englishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2007

Have just returned from a long weekend at the Resolution celebrating our wedding anniversary. There is no parking at the hotel which is a big problem in Whitby. The hotel itself has some lovely architectural features, however is tired and seems to have been let go. The room was clean and had a good view of the sea and ruins. I was surprised that one of the above reviewers mentioned room service as there was nothing on offer to us. There was not even any information about the hotel or area in the room although a small selection of leaflets could be picked up in reception. There was no hairdryer or ironing facilities although we did notice an ironing board in reception when we were leaving. The staff were very young and although polite totally inflexible. The first morning only half the dining room was set up for breakfast and as all the window tables were occupied we asked if we could sit next to the window at an unmade table. We were told sorry but no as they were not made up. I said I would really like to sit next to the window and was told again sorry no. We were prepared to make the table up ourselves but we were told sorry, no. I am talking about moving 2 cups and saucers as there was already cutlery on the tables. Breakfast was good although a little tasteless apart from some sort of grinding topping on the tomatoes that tasted of garlic. Not quite what we wanted first thing. We noticed that most of the other guests had left their's too. I asked on the second morning if I could have my tomatoes without the topping and was told that sorry, no because they came with it on! You helped yourself to tea and coffee in satchets with hot water from flasks, which was not what we have experienced at other hotels before. The bar area is large and although the staff served quickly they seemed to be more interested in having conversations with each other whilst serving rather than speaking the customers. There is entertainment of a sort on in the bar at night in the form of a local singer who was not very good. Downstairs there is another bar which is rowdy and generally rough. I agree with the above reviewer that this is a hotel that is being run like a guest house, however charging hotel prices and with a 10am checkout! In fact we felt we would have probably been better looked after in a guest house. We will not be returning to the Resolution nor would we recommend it to any of our friends.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pxbradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2007

we are a family from manchester with two children age 6 10
weekend break are always special and thats what we found in the hotel resolution.
having never been to whitby we were gladly surprise how beautiful it was .
the way i describe it is if you like york are harrogate your going to loue whitbee.
finding a realy nice place to go always means to me the hotel has got to follow the same and thats what we sertinerly found with the hotel resolution .
this hotel is run by very multiskilled staff who switch from clecking you in to serving you a drink ,
there nothing that they cant do for you so if your looking for a weekend away look no further than the resoulution you wont be dissapointed.

  • Liked — staff
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mjtManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2006

It would have helped to know that the hotel is at the top of a steep cliff I would have had my asthma medicine ready. The room had a great view. Although it was very small and noisy. The people in the next room had very nasty coughs and we heard every cough all night. We did consider going next door and offering medical attention. Not to mention their bathroom being on the other side of a stud wall which was incredibly noisy. We did eat in the restaurant the first night. We rang room service and they told us the restaurant was no smoking and not to bother to book. We went down about 15 minutes later to discover that the restaurant is open to the bar which is full of smoke. We were told that the chef had already closed the kitchen. It said 10pm in the leaflet in the room it was 8.55 when we arrived. The waitress did ask the chef and we got some food although he had run out of veg. I think as we were expected to pay restaurant prices having a tv on in the restaurant was slightly odd. We ate our meal with the last peoples dirty glasses on the table and no napkins. We didnt like to complain as they had finished serving. We ordered a bottle of wine from the bar and when we came to pay the bill we were charged for it twice. The next morning we were snowed in, nothing was getting in or out of Whitby and the staff were most helpful in booking us another night etc. We had breakfast in the restaurant in the morning. There was a bit of a tussle over juice as the hotel had run out. We were promised there would be vegetarian options for breakfast. The vegetarian option consisted of leaving the meat off the plate. As we stayed another day we never got the room serviced and I had to call to get clean towels and dirty cups taken away etc. It was only a very small room and we were dissapearing under cups, glasses and towels by the end of the day.
The staff in the hotel were very helpful but there werent enough of them and we felt that they had set themselves up as a hotel when really it was more of a guesthouse.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank arianwenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resolution Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Hotel

Property: Resolution Hotel
Address: 1 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Resolution Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Resolution Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resolution Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing