We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub hotel”
Review of Resolution Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resolution Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here last year, and for the price we can't fault it in any way. Was in Whitby to visit friends in Saltburn and finished off a great Saturday with a few beers in the bar, a live band was on and were good. Bar and hotel staff superb. Cracking good breakfast before we set off back to Lancashire.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at this hotel & have no hesitation in recommending either the hotel itself or the staff.

Like most hotels in Whitby, there is no onsite parking but, for just £5.00 for 24 hours the car park on Silver Street is just a two minutes walk away.

Check in was extremely fast and the lady on reception was both friendly and informative explaining both eating options The Vault (restaurant) and the Main Deck (bar food) and providing directions to the lift & our room ( 310 )

The room was spacious,very clean and nicely decorated. If we were to have one very small criticism it would be that although the ensuite was more than an adequate size, the shower cubicle was rather small. However, unless you're considering spending your stay in the shower it shouldn't be an issue. I can't see how the owner could improve this and the evidence throughout the rest of the room facilities indicate to me that he certainly makes every effort make your stay as comfortable as possible. The room was very quiet and the bed very comfortable.

We ate in the Main Deck bar. The food was good and the service again very friendly. Having read various prior to booking ( as I do whenever we travel ) I was pleased that I try to read between the lines as to other peoples comments. I believe one reviewer described the bar as 'tatty' and as having 'plastic topped tables' This could not be further from the truth. It is decorated in what I would describe as a contemporary style and I saw no evidence of ' wall paper peeling from the walls' Having said that, myself and my partner are not in the habit of crawling around looking for peeling decor when we spend an evening away !

The breakfast was well organised and very tasty. You help yourself to cereals, fruit,yogurts, juice etc and then order you breakfast at you table. The portion size set us up for the day & the service was friendly and quick.

For us, this hotel was a real find. I can't comment as to the noise situation as we stayed on a Thursday and the live bands play at the weekends. That having said, if I was booking a hotel that clearly advertised live bands, I might just expect some noise. What we were provided with was a very clean comfortable room, good food, reasonably priced drinks ( middle of the price scale when compared to other pubs we visited ) friendly helpful staff in a good location. It was exactly what we wanted. We will be visiting again hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rads153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay in this hotel, given to us by my partners daughter and boyfriend. All I can say is it was superb, the staff, the room, the food everything about it was great, the room had been refurbished (in fact, its the room shown on the photo)
The staff were indeed very friendly and helpful, nothing was a bother, the food in the Vault was sooooperb. Wouldn't hesitate to go back. Thanks to all at Resolution.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatL51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

we have just returned from our overnight stay at the hotel with a KGB deal. We found the hotel very clean, very comfortable and well furnished. Our 3 course meal in the Vault restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was equally as tasty. The staff were friendly and could not do enough for us. We will definitely be returning at some point in the near future and we would certainly recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We once wrote a review on the Resolution food after visiting for a meal roughly a year ago and because of that we decided to go back and try a nights stay as well, we were not disappointed the room was immaculate with an excellent bed and en-suite, the staff could not do enough for us and are highly trained to an excellent standard that wouldn't look out of place in your posh London hotels. We had a meal in the Vault which is found in the basement of the Hotel and i can honestly say the Lamb is the finest i have ever tasted definitely worth a go. In the morning we entered the breakfast room and again we were met by the helpful staff, help yourself to tea/coffee, toast, cereal etc then on sitting down the waitress attended to take our order of cooked breakfasts ( quality sausage ). We will definitely return to The Resolution now we have found a home from home.

Room Tip: 307,308 and 309 for brilliant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just stayed at this hotel. We found it very good value for money. The hotel is clean as are the rooms. The staff were top rate nothing too much for them. Hotel close to the centre. The only problem was the parking you have to use local car park. This was no big deal. Food was good. Room had everything you need. Would come back again next time we go to Whitby.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank bigemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Although the staff are extremely friendly and polite we were disappointed with the cleanliness. The windows in our bedroom and bathroom had mould around them. Other than that it was a lovely stay with comfy beds.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penn3811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
638 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resolution Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Hotel

Address: 1 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: £50 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Resolution Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Resolution Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resolution Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing