We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sunday carvery - great value”
Review of Resolution Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resolution Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Sleights, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“sunday carvery - great value”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

First time in the resolution - easy access as there are 3 entrances - very spacious inside with SKY wide screen for those who are interested (football was showing when we were in but its no loud and intrusive - The meal and drinks prices were very competitive , but the standard and portions were outstanding , a great selection of vegetables which were boiled up to mush , the serving of meat (3 to choose from) was exceptional , carved like you would at home , not see through like some eating establishments are doing at present , the place was busy but we got a table with no waiting , there is a separate drinking area if you do have to wait for a table , Bar staff and chef were very polite , tables were cleaned down as people left , overall a very pleasant atmosphere , We will definitely visit again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    419
    203
    56
    44
See reviews for
88
717
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I booked a last minute two night break at the Resolution in Whitby. We arrived on a chilly drizzly day and were immediately made welcome by the receptionist who answered all our questions - car parking, lift, eating, breakfast times, etc.
We were absolutely delighted with our top floor room. Although not particularly large, it was beautifully furnished with modern light oak furniture, and had a clean well equipped en-suite shower room with plenty of toiletries and white fluffy towels. It was, however, the view from our window that completely took our breath away.
We looked over red tiled higgledy piggledy roof tops to the amazing Whitby Abbey ruins in the distance (beautifully lit up at night), To the left we could see the sea and the harbour and to the right the rest of the harbour and the river.
We ate out the first night, but decided to try the food in the hotel bar on the second night and we weren't disappointed. Great food, good choice, and very reasonably priced. Breakfast on the two mornings were everything you could want to set you up for long shore walks.
The hotel is ideally situated for the town centre and bars and restaurants are all within easy walking distance (though up and down hill!)
Although there is no on site parking, there is a ;pay and display car park just two minutes walk away.which cost us £9 for the two days.
The only criticism I could make is that there is nowhere in the bathroom to hang anything, and nowhere in the bedroom to hang wet coats etc. However, the kettle and coffee tea and biscuits available in the room were always very welcome after a long walk.
Perhaps the best thing about this hotel is the very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Always try to get a top floor room, facing the Abbey
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HullUni_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Just stopped two nights bed & breakfast at the resolution. Lovely cosy & clean room with a really comfy bed. Will definitely be going back the next time we visit Whitby. The location was ideally placed and central to nightlife. Only had breakfast but this was plentiful with a good choice.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JanineE313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of the KGB deal but decided to upgrade to the four poster bed and it was worth it!. Lovely hotel, very clean room and very helpful and friendly staff. The food was also very nice. Would stay again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

A very pleasant hotel right in the heart of Whitby. Rooms were spacious and light and beds were comfortable. We were on a deal which included breakfast and an evening meal- both were of high quality and our dining experience at The Vault was a revealation : in fact one of the best meals we have ever had. Staff were helpful and friendly and we hope to return soon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just stayed in the resolution hotel in whitby with my wife.We were made very welcome we had groupon tickets given to us by our son for bed and breakfast plus wine.The staff made use very welcome the hotel and room was very clean and comfortable.The full english breakfast was very nice in all had a great time.I would fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

four of us stayed for two nights and had a great time, location is right in the heart of Whitby with plenty of things to do. Rooms very clean and well maintained. food and services very good. Booked through Groupon and at £89.00 for diner bed & breakfast for two nights was well worth it.
We will be back, feeling happy.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 303 which is on 3rd floor, nice and quiet and very bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davee626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#9 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resolution Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Hotel

Property: Resolution Hotel
Address: 1 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Resolution Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HRS so you can book your Resolution Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resolution Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing